rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















clunk
December 06, 2007

I�m still feeling for shit today. I dragged myself to work but I probably should have stayed home. I can�t get anything done around that place on a Thursday, anyway�Thursdays, my office is run by the partnership of Jabber, Yack, Chatter and Jaw. And was somebody�s fucking birthday, which means that prick on the other side of the wall came over here stealing food, and then went back to his desk and proceeded to eat it at top volume. Uhh, way to be sneaky, there, sport! You move like a great jungle cat!

For once, I stated my intentions here and stuck to them�after I posted yesterday, I spent the rest of the evening happily watching �Qi� on Youtube, coughing, eating red & green M&Ms, and laughing at Stephen Fry, John Sessions, Alan Davies, and various others being their hilarious selves. If I could get that entire series on DVD without paying a kajillion bucks for it, I would. Nothing like that on US television, and if there was, it would be a shitty, pale imitation with Drew Carey for a host. (See �Whose Line Is It, Anyway?�)

I took a couple of breaks to clean snow off the car, and to wash up the dirty dishes, but I managed to get through about 4 episodes. The worst part is tracking down all the sections to each episode; they are broken into four per show because of Youtube time limits. Fortunately, it�s worth it.


Remember when I had a hissy about booking my family�s holiday accommodations? And then I had an easy time of it so I thought everything was okay?

CLUNK!

Hear that? The other shoe just dropped. My SIL wants to change to a different hotel, because one of her innumerable family connections can get us a better deal. But she wants me to keep the original reservations (on MY credit card) until the very last minute, �just in case it doesn�t work out� (e.g. the dog situation).

See, this is the kind of thing that makes me nuts about my family. This is the SIL who roped me into making arrangements in the first place, because she didn�t have time to deal with it.

grmmph.
But I told her sure, go for it, because I am not having my Christmas ruined by bitching and moaning about the whole thing, and I have far more confidence in my own ability to hold my tongue than I do hers. Of course, Mom will pitch some kind of fit about it, that�s a given. But that�s pretty much a given in any situation, so there�s nothing I can do to win that battle. I double-checked MY hotel, and I can cancel without penalty until 6:00 pm on the 22nd, so I won�t get stuck with the bill for four empty hotel rooms.


Reading: �Upstairs, Downstairs, Volume II�, by John Hawkesworth.

Listening: taking a break and not doing anything musical today.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com