rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















soupercharged
May 05, 2006, 7:44 P.M.

I may crash occasionally, but I'm still capable of gunning my moter, too. At 6:00 pm, I was waking up on the couch, having succumbed to my napping compulsion about 3:30.

By 7:00 pm, I had taken the dog out, been to the grocery store and back, and had a big pot of homemade soup on to cook.

A good hour's work, that. Spouse had requested my homemade vegetable soup for dinner tonight; there was something about the grey rawness of the day that seemed to suggest hot soup. One last pot before the summer comes, I guess. I usually only make it in the fall and winter.

And since I have it down to a science, it doesn't take long to throw a batch together. Thank goodness for Kitchen Basics stock, though!

Anyway, it smells very cosy in here now, with it simmering on on the stove.



I felt very schlubby and thick-headed today--I forgot to take my Lexapro until ten last night, and that stuff seems to be tricky for me. If I take it too early, I crash and sleep my evening away. If I take it too late, I feel hung over from it the next day. 8:30 seems to be just about the right time--but it's hard. If I can't tie it to something else, like walking the dog or doing the dishes or such, I can't seem to remember. I need an alarm clock for it, or something.


Spouse is getting a new schedule at work, because the plant manager thinks the guys are being worked too much (read: too much overtime). Which is all right with Spouse. He doesn't need 60-75 hours every week. He has a wife with good income and no kids to support. Extra money is nice, but we've always been the sort of people who believe in balancing work and leisure.

Some of the other mechanics are a upset about the change, but when you are supporting wives who refuse to work and multiple batches of children, I imagine you are grateful for every minute of OT you can squeeze out of the company. Both for the money, and for the escape from your hellish life it affords you.

Anyway, he'll be working from 2:00 till 10:30 each day, and will probably only have to work every second or third weekend. I'm glad of that, with summer coming. Give him a chance to enjoy that backyard Eden he's putting together.



I'm, trying to get some pants hemmed, but it's slow going. If it isn't one thing with this crappy body of mine, it's another. Now that my hands can go for hours, my elbow craps out after about 45 minutes, and I have to put the sewing away. I bought these three pair of slacks at Penney's back in '04, and after hemming the khakis, I just never got round to the blacks or the navys. So they were too long, and I never wore them. Well, right now they fit, I need them, and dadgum it--it's hemming time. I'll get it done eventually. I have to--I need the pants!



Reading: "Death at the Bar", by Ngaio Marsh, and "Good Mood: The New Psychology of Overcoming Depression", by Julian L. Simon.


Listening: XM Comedy 150 and Laugh 151.


Beading: nuthin'. Do I need to take this category out of here?


One Year Ago, I was beading a Mother's Day gift.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com