rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















downer
Thursday, May. 05, 2005,

Spouse called me at work today to let me know that he intended to ride the bike to work. So I'm going to be fretting and worrying till midnight...at the very least. I am just too far along life's path to go back to the days when it didn't occur to me to worry.

It seems to me, men assume that anything they've done successfully, they will continue to do successfully forever. It never enters their head that they may be past it. He used to ride his Honda when he worked second shift in McHenry, so why wouldn't he ride the Harley to work second shift in Oak Creek?

Well, Hon--number one, you are forty-six. You are not thirty-three anymore.
And number two, you are half blind in your left eye.



Work was a typical, will-it-ever-end, death-of-a-thousand-paper-cuts kind of a day. Also known as Thursday.
Nothing earth-shaking. Just a million tiresome little irritations.


Every day now, when I see the news, I become more certain that my worst nightmare is coming true. I will be waking up someday very soon in a fundamentalist theocracy where women are treated like brood mares, forced to reproduce against their will, and considered property of the men. It may be Islam, but my bigger fear is that it will not be Islam.

Shades of Margaret Atwood.



Does it count as good news, or bad news, that Precious Doe has been identified, and her mother charged with her murder?

I feel immensely relieved for the good people of Kansas City who took this poor little girl's case to their hearts.

But, not for the first time, I find myself weeping for that child--for the pain endured in her short life, and for how very short that life turned out to be.

And I tear myself to pieces trying to find the logic in a mother's inexplicable actions.

Erica Michelle Maria Green, rest in peace, you dear, sweet child.



GYM REPORT:
33 minutes
1.84 miles
222 calories



Reading: "A Tale of Two Cities", by Charles Dickens, and a volume of three short novels by Colette. "Gigi", "Julie de Carneilhan", and "Chance Acquaintances".

Listening: XM, Seventies on 7.
"Theme from Star Wars ", by John Williams

Beading: A bracelet in jonquil yellow and willow green.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com