rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















urpdate
April 24, 2006, 2:25 P.M.

Yesterday turned out to be rather a pleasant day, which took me by surprise. Not that it was anything special, but I just seemed to enjoy it instead of feeling resentful. I got up about 6:15, dressed, had a little coffee, and then walked the dog. Then I came home and had a little more coffee. And wished I had pastries to go with.

So I jumped up, grabbed my purse, and headed to the bakery for Cinnamon Persians, Raspberry Danish, and a couple of fabulous croissant, waxen with butter and savory golden brown on the outside.

Spouse worked late Saturday, and slept in, I ate my croissants, drank my coffee, and read my book until he got up at about 10:30. Whereupon I made fresh coffee for him, and he woke up slowly, with persians and danish and coffee to speed the process.

Once he was truly up, we popped out to run errand, and went to Lowe's. Where we had intended to run in and grab some spray-on weed and feed.

And where we walked out, $138.00 later, with wrought-iron brackets, wind chimes, and hanging baskets to put up on the back fence. Spring fever, anyone?

Spring fever--Spouse, to be exact. That boy went crazy in there. And then he came home and fixed up the back yard with all that. Mounted the brackets on the fence posts, and hung the baskets. Next thing I know, he's mowing, putting the awning and cushions on the swing, and spraying for dandelions. We still have a long way to go back there, but it's starting to take on a bit of charm.

I, being more patient than he, unpacked, disentangled, and put up the wind chime. I love the one I picked out--a tranquil medium tone, black tubes hung from a pewter-colored metal ring, and the windcatcher is shaped like an oak leaf. It isn't too high-pitched, which makes my skin crawl, or too deep like a church bell (depressing!). A just-right, medium tone.

I also put up a small, cheap birdfeeder out front, so that the birds will come eat, and keep Miss Raji entertained. We always had one out there until last year(when it died of old age), and she was very fond of watching her birds for hours at a time. So I popped $2.48 for a little cheapy plastic one and hung it out there. Small price to pay to keep her amused.



The summery theme continued with dinner. Spouse decided he wanted steaks on the grill, salad, sweet corn, and baked potatoes for dinner. So that's what he got. Eventually. After three tries at getting the charcoal lit.

I called it a meal calculated to dirty the most possible dishes and still be cooked outside. Salad bowls, corn steamer, corn pegs, corn dishes--and of course, the fallout from his dessert prep.

He decided to make homemade chocolate-chip ice cream. Um--no big deal, except that he put a tablespoon of alcohol-based vanilla extract into a no-cook recipe. Essentially, he spiked it with antifreeze.

So he had chocolate chip soup. We decanted it into a covered bowl and stuck it into the freezer, and I'm sure it will be fine, but needless to say, there was no ice cream last night.

That's probably a good thing. Because I almost killed myself with indigestion as it was. I ate way too much rich food, and woke up this morning to heartburn, diarrhea, and a very queasy and upset stomach. I wasn't sure I was going to make it all the way home from our walk this morning, I felt so ick.



So when Raji and I rounded a corner on a busy street in the middle of town, and came face-to-face with a coyote? I nearly crapped my pants.

I froze, Raj froze, the coyote froze...and finally, it loped off down the street, away from us.

This is at least the third coyote sighting in my general area since February, and that's pretty spooky, considering I live miles from the edge of town.

I do feel sorry for them. Poor things, we've taken all their land--where are they supposed to go? But I really don't want to have to worry about them wandering the neighborhood.

It does explain the sudden downturn of the rabbit population this year, though.
And makes me even more grateful for my fenced back yard.


It was fairly quiet at work today. For a change. Good thing, since I felt so sick to my stomach all day. But I had to attend--run, actually--a meeting this morning. That doesn't do the old tumtum much good, I can tell you. And it was another "nap in the car" lunch hour, afterwords. Judging from the urpiness, I'd say I've a touch of gastritis.

Still, progress was made, and now I can get closer to completing the project I'm working on.



I have to come up with an answer for my doctor again on Friday, and damned if I know what I'm going to say. I'm back to the exact same set of symptoms I had the first time I went! Sure, it is an improvement over how I felt a month ago, but the only reason we can call it one is because of how wretched I felt after the first month of treatment. Yay. So I'm back to sleeping too much, stuffing my face too much, packing on weight, and feeling overwhelmed and unable to concentrate. The only difference is, it's costing me sixty-five bucks a month in drugs and encounter fees.


I'm kind of glad I'm sick, actually. It gives me an excuse for going home and going to bed. Spouse called me this afternoon to inform me that some system or other crashed at the plant, so production is shut down for tonight, and he doesn't have to work.

He's bummed by this, because he wants the hours, but he's been pushing himself pretty hard lately and I don't think it will hurt him to be off for a night.

I am, however, still bummed. Because I always resent it when I think he's going to be out of my hair, but he gets in it anyway. I should be all glad he's home and shit, but it just irks me.

I know it isn't fair, but that is my honest reaction. For tonight, though, like I said--I'm just going to crash out, and ignore him. Since I feel so damned nauseous.

Have I mentioned I have a tummy-ache?




Reading: "Death of a Fool", by Ngaio Marsh.


Listening: CD--"The Best of Arlo Guthrie". No, I didn't forget to update this part--I'm still listening to this. I mean, I looove that song!


Beading: nuthin'.


One Year Ago, I was having a great conversation.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com