rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















entry #594, anniversary #2
April 22, 2006, 8:36 P.M.

Wow.
I've been at this for two years already.
Time flies.



I was a phenomenal underachiever today. I had a million hell-bound paving stones, but I didn't make good on very many.

In the morning, I did the usual long walk with the dog, drank most of a pot of coffee, read a book and futzed around the house without visible result, and took Spouse to get his bike out of storage.

Then we went to the Italian deli and grabbed sandwiches at the sidewalk cafe. I tried something new with my standard (Italian sausage on a roll with sweet peppers and eggplant salad) fare. Instead of my usual Sprechers Cream Soda, I tried a Point Premium Black Cherry Cream Soda, from the Stevens Point Brewery. Hot damn. It was even better that my usual.

But then, soda with real cane sugar is always a million times better than high fructose corn syrup. It pains me to say it, considering how many of my relatives are Iowa corn farmers, or in the grain processing business. But HFCS is nasty-ass shit, and an abomination in soda pop.



We came home and I futzed around some more, washing bedding changing out the sheets on my bed, among other things. The new sheets I bought are 60% polyester, and I strongly suspect that's the reason I've been feeling so hot and sweaty at night. So I stripped them off and switched them out with my wonderfully soft, 100% cotton sheets. They are cool and smooth and worn in perfectly, and I thing that will probably solve the problem. I'll save the others for winter, when I need to hold in my body heat.


After Spouse went to work about two, I fiddled about on the computer for a while, and then went to do some necessary and unpleasant shopping. The trip to Hell-Mart was something I couldn't put off any longer--I just needed too much stuff. But kee-ripes, what a Bosch painting of Hell. It was more of a commando raid than a shopping trip, zipping in and out as fast as possible. I could feel my IQ dropping the longer I was in that place.

And I had to go to that damned shitty Petco, because Raji was out of food. What a coinkydink! So were they. I usually get the seventeen pound bag of her food, as it is difficult to keep it fresh in greater amounts. Her pals club free food deal is keyed to buying ten bags of the same size per year, in order to earn a free one.

All they had was the 35-pounder. So not only did I have to spend $35 for a bag of dog food--a bag that size will skew the whole year, and she probably won't qualify for a free one this year.

Plus, I have to figure out how I'm going to keep all that food fresh until she gets around to eating it. Grr.



Despite whipping through the Wendy's drive-thru for a large (and very tasty) fountain Coke, I was whipped when I got home. Amazing how that one little hour-long excursion spanked me on the ass, but I've been good for nothing ever since.

In fact--I think I'll go walk the dog, and then crawl into my fresh, clean, cool, soft sheets.




Reading: "Vintage Murder", by Ngaio Marsh.


Listening: CD--"The Best of Arlo Guthrie". I must have sung "City of New Orleans" 15 times in the last two days.looove that song.


Beading: nuthin'.


One Year Ago, I was only on post 344.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com