rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















freezer bounty
April 21, 2006, 6:53 P.M.

Whoa.
Spouse brought home an unbelievable amount of food last night.
About 50 full-sized pizzas, a case of mini-pizzas, four cases of breakfast sandwiches, and a case of grill-ready, 5-cheese panini.

I cleared out the entire deep freeze, plus made additional room in the basement fridge/freezer--and it still wasn't enough!

Most of it is gone now, though. my ex sis-in-law and Niece came to pick a bunch of it up this afternoon, and Spouse dropped a bunch more off at a friend's on his way to work. He has still more waiting for another friend to pick it up during the week.



This morning at work was rather hectic, but for once, it didn't go too badly. I got a shitload done, impressed the boss once or twice, and even got around to making myself a hair appointment for this afternoon. (Which, thanks be, I kept. What a relief!)

The un-fun part? Having to report to the boss's office, ten minutes prior to my start time, and spend a half-hour listening to her try and do damage control following the co-worker's hijacking of the team meeting, and the tirade we were subjected to yesterday. I assured her that I wasn't sucked in by all that, and that I knew to take Angry Co-worker with a good-sized pinch of salt.

Boss did tell me that she was impressed with my retorts during that meeting, both when I attempted to be reasonable, and when I tore into her. (I get very quiet and articulate when I'm pissed, as opposed to loud and incoherent. That tends to make a better impression than frothing at the mouth.)

So really, that little meeting went okay, I guess. The un-fun part was getting rung in cold to that kind of thing before I'd even had a chance to put my purse away. I don't like being blind-sided like that.



Sis-in-law and I pulled up at the house right at the same time, so I got to see Niece.

She got back from her class trip to D.C. last Saturday, and was there over her birthday. But she got to miss almost a week of school, and get back just in time for spring break. And to get her braces! What a thrill to have a grille, I guess. She's had some kind of preliminary orthodontia for years, with a series of retainers, both removable and attached. She says she actually likes braces better than that. She's not the vain sort, anyway, so she's handling it pretty well. Poor kid got her teeth from her dad's side--crowding, cross-bites and all.



Well, I'm a couple of steps closer to pool ownership--I got my confirmation from the digger's hotline, and we heard from the pool dealer that we can pick it up May 1st. I think I'm starting to get excited!


And speaking of picking things up--I have to take Spouse out to the Harley dealership tomorrow morning, so he can get his bike out of storage. With gas about to hit $3.00 a gallon, it's not a moment too soon.


Strangely, I actually felt pretty peppy today. Right up until I stretched out across the bet to give the dog a cuddle, and passed out for three hours. That kind of disapointed me, actually. I was going to visit the library today after I got my haircut, but the weather was so nice I decided to just drop off the books, come home, and putter in the yard. Only, alas, to succomb once more to the sleeping sickness. Sheesh, what a lot of time I waste napping these days.


Spouse will be home late tonight--probably not till 2:30 or so. So I won't be staying up to feed him. Nevertheless, he has requested a complete dinner for when he comes home, so I should probably go get that cooked. And oddly enough--it isn't pizza! Baked pork chops (what else, for my sweet Homer?) rice pilaf (from a box mix), and haricots verts (steamed), with caramel brownies for dessert.

Spoiled much? Well...no, not much, actually. I can't even remember the last time I cooked him anything. Poor Sweetie.




Reading: "Vintage Murder", by Ngaio Marsh.


Listening: CD--"The Best of Arlo Guthrie".


Beading: nuthin'.


One Year Ago, I was watching the buzzards.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com