rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















february frigidity
February 18, 2006, 12:23 P.M.

Holy popsicles, Batman. It is fuggin' frigid outside today. I'm going to avoid it as much as possible, for as long as possible. I'll have to go out later on an errands run, but for now I'm sticking to an indoor game plan.

A little house work, some luandry, and the big trying on session, wherein I find out that I'm as big as a house and nothing fits. I'm dreading it, but I really cannot put it off any longer, if I'm to be ready for my vacation.

Later, that same day...
Well that didn't hurt as bad as I thought it would. I have a surprising number of things that fit. Making actual outfits of them may be a different story. But I was relieved and pleased to find that just about all of the clothes I bought last summer fit just fine, and I even have three pair of wearable jeans.

Yeah, one is "a little tight", one is "a little loose", and one is "just right", but I can wear them all.

And most weirdly--I found two beautiful, semi-dressy shorts sets that fit perfectly. I wish I could figure out where they came from! Seriously. I cannot remember where I got them. Did I buy them on and end-of-season sale somewhere? Did D. give them to me? I haven't a clue. I'll have to leaf though some old diary entries from last year and see if I can turn up the answer. Anyway, as I said: Perfect fit. And they are brand new, with the tags still on.

Since this wedding is on the casual side, I think I'm just going to wear the rose and black outfit I wore to my niece's graduation last spring--it fits, it's flattering, and I even have it accessorized because I custom-made the necklace and earrings to go with it.

So with the cotton casual slacks, the jeans, the shorts, some dressy stuff, and loads of little knit tops, I'm in pretty good shape, wardrobe-wise. I need some new bras, but otherwise everything's good.



Too bad I've got to come up with a new game plan for everything. As usual, my right little, tight little schedule of events leading up to departure has been ravaged by my Spouse's incredibly inconvenient family. It seems that P&E are going to Florida two days before I'm leaving for Las Vegas. And, like last year, they need Papa out of the house so the dogsitter can move in (she doesn't want to stay there if Papa is around).

Well. Guess what? They're dumping him on us, starting Thursday. So I've got the old poop underfoot right when I need to be getting ready and cleaning house and dropping off the dog and running all the little last minute errands and well--fuck.

I do love P&E, and I do love Papa, but why does this happy horseshit always happen to me at the worst possible time? And now, in addition to obsessing about Raji the whole time I'm gone*, I can obsess about the old man smoking his forbidden Lucky Strikes and burning my house down. Hoo-friggin'-ray.

Well, at least my coffee carafe is stainless, and he can't punch a hole in it like he did last year when he stayed with me.


*Now that she's older, and having more health problems, I'm uncomfortable every minute she's in the kennel. I can't help it. I get feelings of dread every time I have to board her.



GYM REPORT:
14.5 Minutes
0.5 Miles
72 calories

'Tain't much, but it is significant that I was able to do it at all. And to tell the truth, I Probably shouldn't have, but if I didn't get some exercise soon, I was going to bug out.




Reading: "Do Not Exceed The Stated Dose", by Peter Lovesey.

Listening: To nothing at the moment.

Beading: Content right now to dream big dreams of the fresh goodies I'll find in LV.

One Year Ago, I was very relieved.

At Random: click here



|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com