rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















amused and bemused
February 17, 2006, 7:00 P.M.

I find I've been laughing a lot this past few days.

In spite of the sprained ass, and crappy weather, and the usual shit going at my job and at Spouse's.

I just seem to be laughing out loud at people, television, and amusing quips on the Web. And I'm still being weirdly outgoing in supermarkets and drugstores and elevators. I blame drugs.

And while this is all good, I'm kind of disappointed that I don't seem to feel much more clear-headed or less lethargic.

And I'm still tenaciously clinging to the smoking, although I have managed to eliminate an entire pack a week from my habit. And since I was only smoking three packs a week to start with, that ain't hay. It averages out to about three a day, so that means I'm down to an average daily intake of 5.72 smokes.

And interestingly enough, I seem to be putting them out sooner, so it's really only about half that. I don't know why I can't just walk away entirely, but I guess they're a crutch. One thing that I do know about my smoking--I do not normally get very much time just for myself, and those little smoke breaks have always been my way of taking a break, and going off by myself for a few minutes. So maybe I'm just afraid that if I give up cigarettes, I'm surrendering that little bit of "me time" they provide.

By the same token, that's probably why I'm not hitting them very hard right now--plenty of time for me lately, so less need to go out and hit the squares.



I'm being slightly naughty today--I had a fish sandwich and four onion rings from a very good little sandwich stand for lunch.

And I'm indulging in afternoon (well, evening) coffee--"Java Chocolate Almond" from Beach Bay Coffee. The grocery store had 1-pot sample packs, 2/$1.00, so I grabbed a few. I love an occasional pot of chocolate-almond coffee. And truly--there is no way I'd be able to stay up for Spouse on Fridays if I didn't hit the caffeine.



And I do like to stay up for Spouse on Fridays--it seems to mean an awful lot to him, and I don't just mean home cooking. He really seems to appreciate the fact that I have a choice, and choose to be with him.

Well, that and the food.
Tonight he's getting roast chicken from the slow-cooker, a noodle dish that comes out of a box--bleah! But he just loves it, so I make it once in a while for him. And his favorite Green Giant baby peas--the kind in a boiling bag. That was the epitome of haute cuisine for his mother, so he considers them a special treat.

I wouldn't normally bother with the slow-cooker, but I am trying out the new liners that Reynolds came out with. Here's a spoiler:

they are exactly the same as the oven bags that have been around for years. Except proportioned to fit in the Crock-Pot. So I wouldn't call them a new product exactly--more a new application of an existing item. Anyway--chicken is my least favorite thing to try and clean out of the cooker, so I figured I'd give them a shot. If they work, who knows? I may be more inclined to use the damned thing.



Do you ever find yourself working away at your job, and suddenly you realize--you're in the sweet spot, and absolutely 100% engaged and in love with your job?

Yeah--me neither.

Seriously though--that is the way I felt at work this morning. Because it was one of those rare occasions where I was actually doing what I love. What I'm trained for. What I'm good at. And I got to enjoy it for almost five full minutes, before somebody came over and pulled me into a pile of crapola that was the diametric opposite.

But oh, it was so good while it lasted.

And I got the rare pleasure of making our giant-brained head developer scratch his head in frustration and dismay. Always a bonus.



I've got to get my head out of my tush this weekend, and figure out my clothes for the trip. I need to try on some stuff, figure out what I'm wearing to the wedding, get the summery stuff done up fresh, and do some freaking planning.

This afternoon, I forced myself to at least clean out my toiletries bag--I needed new toothpaste, shampoo, hairspray, and bodywash.
And I generally needed to clean it out, refill some things, replace others, and get it up to scratch. So that's one thing done, I guess. Well, two. I bought new undies and stockings as well.

But criminetlies--I've got a long way to go!



As for actual vacation plans...last week, I went online and found a bunch of bead stores in LV, and then went to Yahoo maps and got directions from our hotel to each of them. Printed up the results and left them on the dining room table for Spouse to see. I figured he'd be pissy, but he was pretty cool about it.

There's no way I'm going to the sun belt and not hitting the bead stores. Out of respect to his feelings, I kept the list down to four. He can always hang out outside and smoke a cigar if he's bored. And if we get out there and he doesn't want to cooperate?

Well, that's what taxicabs are for.




Reading: "Do Not Exceed The Stated Dose", by Peter Lovesey.

Listening:XM Radio, "On Broadway". The Overture from Bells Are Ringing and The Finale from A Chorus Line, "Jubilation T. Cornpone", from Lil Abner, and "When Frederick Was a Lad" from The Pirates of Penzance.

One Year Ago, I was recovering.

At Random: click here



|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com