rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















dithering
February 21, 2006, 7:41 P.M.

Ever have so many little shit things to do that you can't tell your ass from a hole in the ground?

I'm trying to get organized so I can hit all the tasks I need to hit before we leave on Saturday. Honestly; I long for those days last summer when I was sharp as a tack about this stuff. I still feel that I have to fight my way through a thick fog for every accomplishment. But, as I said, I am trying. I'm breaking down the to-do list by day, and I am filled with hope that by Saturday, all will be done. It really doesn't help that I have to work Papa into the mix.



Something that made me chuckle this morning on the way to work:
Someone puttering along, five miles under the limit, and steadfastly refusing to speed up or get out of anyone's way.

The funny part? Their license plate read "186K MPS".



My senator was on Bill Maher last night. I heart Russ Feingold. And it always makes me chuckle to watch Maher try and disrespect him, because he can't quite manage it. RF is a hard man to diss.

True, I would have liked to have seen Russ be a bit more blunt about the difficulty of prioritizing campaign platform planks when the current administration has fucked EVERYthing up, but he did call them "the gang who couldn't shoot straight", so that made me happy.

My fondest dream? Feingold/Obama in 2008.



Major victory in the smoking battle yesterday--I managed to make it through the whole workday without smoking. Usually I go out at lunch time and hoot, but yesterday I was strong, and didn't succumb.

I have to admit that I managed it chiefly because walking, on my very pianful bum leg, the equivalent of two city blocks to that remote corner of the property that is our designated smoking area? On top of working out in the gym? Juuuust a bit daunting.

Today? different story. I had to spend the half-hour leading up to lunch dealing with someone I really didn't want to deal with. It pushed me over the edge.

But still. I'm taking those milestones where I can get 'em. I'm sure I'll undo all the progress next week in the smoker's paradise that is LV, but for now, all I can do is try.



So--are the Olympics still going on?

With all the TV channels, and online news sources making it easy to target only the stuff in which you have an interest, it seems like they barely penetrate my radar these days.

And since nationalistic pride is no longer politically correct, the whole thing seems so...quaint.

That being said--I still love to watch the curling, I think the medals are hideous, and I feel absolutely horrible for Samantha Retrosi, Lindsey Kildow, Zack Lund, and Michelle Kwan. True, Zack wasn't injured--but Proscar?! Of all the embarassingly silly things to get busted for!

I remember when I was a kid--a year with Olympics and elections was an enormous unwelcome intrusion into my TV watching. It seemed like the whole damn year was shot. Can you tell I've never really been into sports? But as I've gotten older, I appreciate the level of commitment and lifetime of hard work the athletes put in. And I can choose to watch, rather than being forced to. So I enjoy it a bit more. I just wish I could find a good, comprehensive on-line source for the standings and medal-winners.

And hearing about the death of Curt Gowdy made me so sad...it seems so weird and wrong that he should pass away during the Olympics.



Despite lingering pain and discomfort, and an absolutely awe-inspiring collection of bruises, I am trying to get back on track physically. I have started walking the dog again, and I'm back to going to the gym--at least every other day. True, I can't do much yet...the dog gets two blocks and the treadmill gets 20 minutes. But we do what we can, I guess.


GYM REPORT:
Monday, 02/20/06
20 minutes
.70 miles
106 calories

Today, I just couldn't manage. This sucker better improve soon, or I'm in for an excruciating flight on Saturday.




Reading: "Butchers", by Peter Lovesey.

Listening:XM Radio, "Fred". China Crisis, Talking Heads, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Jesus & Mary Chain

One Year Ago, I was mourning.

At Random: click here



|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com