rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















in flew enza
Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005,

I'm whipped. Respiratory Flu.

Turns out that the coughing, wheezing, congested feeling from Monday wasn't allergies after all, but a big old case of flu.

I took Tuesday and Wednesday off from--well, from life, actually. I vegged around in my robe a lot, taking 1200 milligrams of Mucinex at a time and drowning myself in a 50/50 mix of Northland Cranberry and bottled water. With a great big shot of NyQuil before bed. Too sick to read, too sick to bead, and to sick to sit at the computer. Stared at the TV some, but I couldn't say I actually watched it. I can't remember a thing about any of it.

After waking up last night drenched in sweat, and coughing up what felt like 6 pounds of goop,
I actually feel much better today. But the cough is still welling up periodically and making me feel like a road-company Camille. And I have no staying power...walking to the bathroom and back kicks my ass.

Still, I did go to work today and put in a good day's labor, so I suppose I'm over it.

Unfortunately, Spouse started coming down with it yesterday. He's deep in the throes of the icky right now, but I know he won't get enough fluids. Rest, yes, but getting him to drink juice or water is whole other thing. There is just no making him.



One thing I did get off my sickbed for--I kept my Tuesday evening dental appointment! I had to have Spouse drive me, but I waited almost a month for this appointment, and wasn't going to blow it off. I got my adjustment and was back out to the car in about 10 minutes, so it wasn't like some drawn out ordeal. No more pain in the mouth, BTW. Yay!...for now

Then we went to Jewel, where Spouse bought himself something for dinner and I picked up the BIG bottle of that most precious fluid--NyQuil, sweet elixir of oblivion. I was pretty much ready for it by then--half an hour out in the world almost killed me.



I felt a little better yesterday, although the chest thing had traveled upwards into my nose, ears, and sinuses.
I kept taking DayQuil and Mucinex, and managed to pull it together enough to make a simple dinner, and do some rudimentary housework.

I even did a little beading in the evening. Not much, though...it makes me nervous to sit there it 25 grams of seed beads on a tray in my lap, and a violent cough.

I'll probably chance it tonight, again. I think about another hour and my choker will be finished. I may get adventurous and do a bracelet and earrings as well. If I have enough beads, anyway.






Reading: "The Years Best Mystery and Suspense Stories, 1991", edited by Edward D. Hoch. (note the different year)


Listening: XM Radio--Laugh! 151, Comedy 150


Beading: Ladder-stitch choker.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com