rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















lack-o-life
February 08, 2006, 6:58 P.M.

Kind of a schizo day today...morning sun, then several hours of very windy and cold, with blowy, drifty, lake-effect snow (A term I'd never heard before I moved to Wisconsin. Along with "bubbler" and "Upnorth".), and then bright sun again, and then grey overcast with a biting North wind. Brrr.

Have I mentioned I hate snow?



I, am suffering a bit from lack-of-life right now. I really don't have much to say, because I'm not really doing much. I'm feeling marginally less droopy today, and I seem to have shaken off the 'everything's wretched' feelings, but I'm still feeling a bit blah. Flat. Lazy, I guess. I mean, my mind can come up with all kinds of things to do, but I just can't get over the hump and do them, even though I'm bored. I even tried watching TV, but I discovered something about that.

I'm very bad at it. It doesn't hold my interest for long,and I don't mean any particular program--the actual act of watching television sets my mind wandering pretty quickly. I can watch a half-hour of Forensic Files, or the last half of Cold Case Files, but I only make it about 45 minutes into an hour show nowadays. If there's a long commercial break, I may wander off and never come back.

And also, it makes me want to eat. Maybe because the only time I sit in front of the TV for very long is when Spouse and I are having dinner? I don't know, but call me Pavlov's dog, I guess. After about 10 minutes watching the tube, I start thinking about food. And I can't stop. But again, maybe that's the boredom.



Spouse interviewing again, because it looks to us like his current employer may be going down the tubes. He's got an interview in Milwaukee tomorrow for the same kind of job. Still 2nd shift, but working 12-hour shifts, 3 days on, 3 days off. That would give him every other weekend off, I guess.

Well, we'll see how it goes. It's getting harder now that he's getting older, and really looking it. I really don't like to nag him, but I insisted that he get a haircut today, and he'd by gum better shave tomorrow. Best foot forward!



GYM REPORT:
27 Minutes
1.39 Miles
185 Calories


Ten straight days!



Reading: "Hercule Poirot's Casebook", by Agatha Christie. A reasonably complete collection of the Poirot short stories.

Listening:XM, "The Loft". John Prine, Ben Vaughn, The Souther-Hillman-Furay Band.

Beading: No.

One Year Ago, I was tasting salt.

At Random: click here


|


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com