rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















overslept
Tuesday, Feb. 08, 2005,

I overslept this morning. Totally shocking; if you know me at all, you know I just don't do that. Spouse blasted me out of a sound sleep by asking if I'd planned on getting up this morning. When he told me it was already 5:21, I did the ohshitohshitohshit bit and launched myself off the mattress. Not a major thing, I guess...I'd caught up with myself by 6:45. Not having to make his lunch or take the dog out three times is a help. I've been thinking of giving myself an extra ten minutes, anyway, since there are fewer demands on me when he is home.



Oh, how I wish I could get rid of this damned salty taste! I've had an incredibly salty mouth for a few days now, and it is just nasty. I'm so tired of it. When I googled for an answer to what it might be, I was treated to a plethora of possible maladies. Everything from post-nasal drip to "leaking cerebro-spinal fluid". Yeah--eeww. But too many possibilities to really learn anything.


Spouse had to go pick his brother up late last night, all the way down to O'Hare. Seems JR's post-Super Bowl ride home (from the airport) had tanked on him. So he was still up when I went to bed, and still in bed after I got up this morning. I cannot tell you how profoundly weird that feels.

JR said that he never made it back to Daytona Beach after the game; they actually found a room closer, and just crashed at some Econo-Lodge. Spouse asked him about souvenirs, but all he bought was the Official Program, for P. In my opinion, he could have sprung for a hat or something for the brother that managed to get him up, packed, to the airport, and home again after, but that's just me.



GYM REPORT:

Tried something different today, due to wait time for a treadmill.

LIFECYCLE:
4.0 minutes
1.52 miles
36 calories

TREADMILL:
22.00 minutes
1.20 miles
162 calories

TOTAL:
26 minutes
2.72 miles
198 calories

About the same time and calories, but working some different muscles, and breaking up the monotony.

Of course, since I just read an article concerning the gross inaccuracy of the readouts on exercise machines, I know that none of it means anything. I knew that already, in fact. I'd already noticed the variations in the different treadmills in the gym at work. Same time elapsed, incline, and speed will give you different distance and calorie readouts on different machines. So I just try not to take the numbers as gospel, and just use them as a general way to chart improvement.

I mentioned that I switched nutrition bars, and that the Body For Life bars had a much higher protein content. Well, they also have no saturated fat (SF does) and fewer calories (200 vs. 220). But I'm not writing off the Slim Fast bars just yet. They have more nutrients, at higher levels, than the BFL. So I've decided to have HALF of a Slim Fast every day around 9:00 AM, and a BFL for lunch. Kinda split the difference, and up my nutrients. I've also renewed my vows concerning water, and I think I may upgrade the multivitamin I'm taking. I just take the cheap, store-brand version of One-A-Day's most basic product. I think I need to move up to a Centrum or something. Help my energy level and fend off depression.



Spouse had an interview with an employment agency in Milwaukee yesterday; he goes back Wednesday to take some kind of tests. And P keeps giving him names of people to call. He's also been going through Monster and CareerBuilder--sending out online resumes. We hope for the best--it's really all we can do.



Reading: "The Years Best Mystery and Suspense Stories, 1983", edited by Edward D. Hoch. Also, (at The Gutenberg Project) reading Agatha Christie's "The Secret Adversary", online. I loves me some Tommy and Tuppence!


Listening: XM Radio, Comedy 150.


Beading: Kind of in a holding pattern at the moment.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com