rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















small cognitive disconnect
February 03, 2006, 6:27 P.M.

It's "National Wear Red Day" today, for the Heart Association. I paid my $5 yesterday and got my sticker, so I could wear jeans to work. So I'm thinking about what I have in red, that I could wear with jeans. Wracking my brain, mentally pawing through my closet, and coming up empty.

As I'm thinking, I get dressed in my gym clothes, go into the gym, get on the treadmill, and stare at my reflection as I work out. Still, I can't think of one red top that I could wear on Friday. Nope. Don't own anything red.

Then I go back into the locker room, shower and change, and tidily fold up my blue sweat pants and my...umm...cute little red cotton shirt.

I worry about me sometimes.



The weather is rather bizarre today--occasional big, fluffy, snow showers. Then typical default grey/cold/blah. And then, every once in a while, a tiny burst of bright sunshine. I dislike days where I can't get a handle on the weather.

Maybe because the weather seems to influence my mood a lot. And this day is having some serious mood swings.



Well, the salad went over big last night, apparently. So much so that Spouse requested the same again tonight. And not being one who likes to prepare separate meals, I'll have another one as well. I'm feeling that mid-winter craving for greens that I get every year, and I can't get enough.


Little by little, I'm coming around to feeling a bit more alive. Inconsequential things I used to do for fun are creeping back into my days.

Last night and today, I put together a separate page for favorite links, and put a link to that under navigation in my sidebar. Not much, but the kind of stuff I just wasn't doing anymore.

And I'm still being friendly as hell in stores. I didn't really think that was me, but maybe it is. I've always been polite and (I hope!) gracious, although reserved. But this? Is hitting the "Iowa Nice" mark. (Similar to "Minnesota Nice", we're talking a high mark.)

It seems to be happening spontaneously. I mean, I'm not consciously thinking about initiating conversation with these people, but all of a sudden, I am.

It freaks me out a little, actually.



GYM REPORT:
20 Minutes
1.0 Miles
140 Calories

Approximate cals and mileage, due to my home treadmill kicking my ass, yet giving up really unreliable feedback. I'm twice as whipped as at the gym, so I'm taking at least 140 and a mile.

I know I shouldn't, but I indulged myself with another big mug of coffee when I got done with my shopping today. I needed a bit of lift. Not a big deal, unless you like it with sugar and cream, as I do. Oh, well. One extra mug a week isn't going to kill me.




Reading: "Winesburg, Ohio", by Sherwood Anderson.

Listening: XM, Comedy 150. Ron White, Doug Stanhope, Emo Philips

Beading: No.

One Year Ago, I was the breadwinner.

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com