rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















friday finally up
Friday, Jun. 10, 2005,

Spouse went for his eye exam and picked out his new glasses today; I'm not crazy about them, but he likes them a lot. He took me to the eye doctor's on our way to lunch so he could show them to me.

He picked out some black, rectangular frames (no more of those old aviators! Hooray!) with straight, head-hugger temples. They are the kind you can twist and bend and practically tie in a knot.

I think they are too dark for his coloring, and too small for his giant melon, but I like them otherwise. I suppose I'll get used to them. I would never tell him he made a bad choice, because I consider that too personal a thing to listen to anyone else about. He had the tact not to say anything about my choice of frames, so I'll return the favor.



I ran over to Hell-Mart this afternoon to pick up some wrapping paper for Papa's birthday presents, and a few other things we need around the house. I managed to snag another pair of the White Stag cotton sheeting pants I love. Navy blue, this time. I also picked up a couple of inexpensive, summery knit tops--a Y-neck, button placket in vivid pink, and a scoop-neck in lavender. I was going to snag some more undies, and maybe a swimsuit, but I hit an unbelievable jackpot in menswear so I jumped on that instead.

They actually had, in stock, on the shelf--not one, but two pairs of jeans in Spouse's size. This is a miracle on a par with the loaves and the fishes, so I snatched them up. I scoured every jeans rack they have, because if they'd had any more, I would have snapped at them, too.

Finding ANY jeans to fit him is a serious challenge. And since he needs them for work, I'd prefer to not to spend $45 a pair. And since he's had to relegate THREE of his raggedy old pairs to the trash in the last week, the situation was getting desperate. Especially since there's still no news of his uniforms!

Oh, wow. Talk about timing. He just called to tell me what he wanted for dinner (great big chef's salad), and I told him about the jeans. And he told me that he got his uniforms today. Oh, well--I don't care. He still needs the jeans.



It has been hotter than the hinges of hell here the last week, and my poor Raji is bored senseless. She would love to be outside in her run, but it is just too damn hot. Even the brand new rawhide bone I bought her doesn't seem to hold her interest. She's not sick, as far as I can tell. Her appetite is good, and she's bouncy enough in the early morning and late evening when we go for our walks. But she is just mopey, and stares longingly out the window. Just a little cabin fever, I guess.

I don't blame her. Me, too.



Well, since I have to babysit Papa tomorrow, so P can set up the birthday party, I suppose I need to get busy and get some housework done. I'll need to do up the bedding and clean the bathroom and generally de-clutter around here. It's hard to believe that I just had this place looking great last Saturday. Because it certainly is a disaster area now.



Reading: "Harm Done" (an Inspector Wexford mystery) by Ruth Rendell

Listening: XM Eighties, but they played Joe Dolce's #1 excrescence from 1981, "Shaddup You Face". So I flipped over to "XM Cafe", where Trashcan Sinatras were playing selections from their "Weightlifting" CD.

Beading: Yada-yada-yada--see yesterday's post.




One Year Ago.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com