rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the struggle continues
June 11, 2019, 8:53 P.M.

After having three nights (Thu-Fr-Sat) where I got almost a full night's sleep, I was hopeful that things were turning around for me. Then Sunday night and Monday night stomped me into the dirt, so I guess there is no permanent change.

The weekend was okay. Friday after work, I got rid to the horrid beauty school polish and re-painted my nails with my own stuff--Orly bonder, two coats of OPI (Aphrodite's Pink Nightie), and Orly Sec N Dry. And proceeded to sit very quietly like a good girl for 45 minutes so they could really dry!

So I had pretty nails. Took care of them, too--gloves for dishes, gloves for yard work. Touched touched them up Sunday afternoon, another coat of Aphrodite and a topcoat of Sally Hansen Supershine topcoat. And another good drying session. So here it is Tuesday and they are still looking fairly good. It's a small thing, I know, but it is one of those things that I hold onto when I am depressed.

Spouse's hours have changed so that he's working 8 to 4 now, which is good in some ways, and sucks in others. One good thing is I would much rather not eat dinner at 7pm, but on the other hand, it's hard on the dog and I don't get any me time at all. But the earlier dinners are nice!!

Since he gets home two hours earlier than he used to, we went out to Pete's for a quick dinner on Friday, and followed up with a grocery run to Meijer, just to get it out of the way. I crashed early, conking out on my bed while reading at around 8:15 or so. Got a decent night's sleep, but woke up at 4:25. Spouse had done the vacuuming, prepped baked beans for Saturday dinner, and tidied up the kitchen before he went to bed, bless his heart!


Saturday was a busy one; I got quite a bit done around the house before we had to take B to the vet for his leg/foot lesions re-check, laser treatment, and his thyroid test.

Thyroid is holding steady, but the foot isn't improving. So another week, another course of treatment. This time the vet has us trying the Phytovet mousse on it twice a day, letting it air, and hot compresses. I am also wrapping it in the morning, so he leaves it alone while in his crate during the day . He got a severe admonishment and cold shoulders from both of us for bothering it in the night, so he's left it (mostly) alone the last couple nights. It still looks like hell, though. (And I'm so stressed over it--apparently I didn't have enough anxiety trying to kill me, huh?)

After the vet on Saturday, we came home, I did more housework, ran an errand, and came home to help with the yard work. After we finished that, it was still only 11, so we decided to run down to the Harbor Market. Bad move--not a parking spot to be had. So we took a mini-road trip, out to Borzynski's farm west of Racine. Got tomatoes, some sweet corn, Spouse found Great Lakes Potato chips, and I found FRESH RHUBARB!!!!

So I made Spouse stop at the Pig so I could run in for some pie dough. Which I did, but I also ran inTO a Knights of Columbus food drive, so they got a couple bags of groceries out of me on my way by.

Came home and what else? Made a strawberry-rhubarb pie. First one I'd had in years, and it was delish! Filling was King Arthur Flour's recipe, dough was Pillsbury's, pie was all mine!

And the errand I'd run earlier was to the dollar store to get craft materials. Spouse and I decided it was a good weekend to visit his dad's grave, so I got the stuff and after the pie was cooling, and I'd taken a minute just to catch my breath, I sat down and created a floral arrangement to put in front of Papa's niche. Came out nice. It was a combination Memorial Day/Papa's Birthday/Father's Day tribute, and he's in a veteran's cemetery, so I did it in RW&B with a small flag. I don't know if anyone else visit's Papa at the cemetery, but I am always glad that we do. I miss that old poop so much. I can't believe it has been 12 years!

I kind of stayed pretty busy and on my feet all day, so it was a productive but wearying one. Especially since I had one danish and coffee early, and that was it till dinner.

But ooooh, what a dinner. Delicious grilled brats, baked beans, coleslaw, and macaroni salad, grilled sweet corn...and of course, PIE! Not for Spouse--he had strawberries and angel food cake, because he doesn't "do" rhubarb. Killer--more for me!

After the cleanup, it was another early evening for me--I fell asleep in my chair.
Sunday, we got up fairly early, because we wanted to stop for breakfast at Meli in Racine on the way out to Sturtevant. You have to hit that place early to avoid the rush. It was still quiet when we got there. Food was marvelous. The biggest, PUFFIEST omelet I've ever gotten in a restaurant. They said it was "only" four eggs, but it was like a football! Also the tastiest omelet. Ham and cheese, but not overdone like they often are. And their little red potatoes and Greek toast. And lashings of their delicious coffee. YUM!

We turned back on our path after breakfast, because we decided we wanted to go to the Danish bakery. Spouse wanted a raspberry kringle for work, and we wanted some of their sourdough for the BLTs we had planned for dinner. Big surprise, and I totally would've gotten one if I hadn't baked a pie--they had RHUBARB KRINGLE. Never seen one before in my life--I guess it was rhubarb weekend!

So then we drove out to the cemetery and visited Papa. Got him all decorated up and looking fine. I want to see what I have to do to get his plaque spruced up--it's getting dingy and hard to read. I also reached into the vases bin and grabbed a couple of their cone vases for next time--I can't get the spiked cemetery vases at Dollar Tree anymore, and I really like those for decorating. So I got a couple to "recycle" for next time.

We filled up the car on the way home, and I finished the last load of clothes, while Spouse pre-cooked the bacon for dinner. We spent the afternoon relaxing. Dinner was the leftover salads from Saturday and BLTs on sourdough toast. Unfortunately, when Spouse bought the thick-cut Wright's bacon at Meijer on Friday, he didn't notice it was MAPLE bacon. Made for a rather interesting BLT, I must say.

After supper, we did our Monday prepping, and I tended B's leg before watching the rest of a movie I'd started on Friday--"Finding Your Feet", starring Imelda Staunton, Celia Imrie, and Timothy Spall, with John Sessions, Josie Lawrence, and Joanna Lumley in supporting roles. It was very enjoyable, and rather sweet if you could get past the sight of a budding romance between Dolores Umbridge and Peter Pettigrew. I was really stunned by Timothy Spall's weight loss. I've been a fan since he played Beano Baggot in Still Crazy (1998), and was stunned by the transformation. But certainly a gold-star cast for me. I love those people!

Of course, the usual Sunday gloom was coming on, and so I took two trazodone before bed, in hopes it would help. It didn't. I had a hard time falling asleep, and woke up at 2:30 with the usual "have to pee? well, as long as you're up, here's an anxiety attack!" routine. (I skipped the trazodone last night, but it was otherwise the same.)
Monday was rough--some issues to wrangle at work, and on very little sleep, so everything is so much harder than it should be. Since we had bakery bread and the last of the macaroni salad and coleslaw to finish, we had tuna sandwiches for dinner. SO good on that sourdough! Easy meal, minimal mess, and that was Monday. I wanted to read, but my eyes were too tired so I played games instead until time for bed.
Today, I was even more tired, but work was easier. I do miss my time to myself, though. I had to stop and pick up prescriptions and sinus pills at Costco on the way home, and by the time I got home and took care of B, it was time to make dinner. Spaghetti with meat sauce and a salad--no garlic bread, because we're trying to cut back and we'd eaten that whole loaf of sourdough in two days, so...

And now, a diary entry. Another life preserver for this drowning woman. Too tired, but I did it anyway because I needed to.



Reading: Never got back to the Penny Marshall book. Not reading any books at the moment. (I know. Sometimes I don't even recognize myself anymore.)

Listening: Weezer, Sugar Ray, Meredith Brooks, and other 1990s/2000s faves. I've been listening to Pop Rocks XM.

Inked Up: No changes this week. Bulow/JinHao X450 Midnight Black, medium nib, inked with Conway Stewart Bodmin (black). Visconti Mirage in Emerald, fine nib, with Mont Blanc Burgundy. The Bexley 10th Anniversary with the custom italic nib, with R&K Blu Mare. The Conklin Duragraph fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown. I am reminded of why I never fill pens all the way up--takes too long to run them out again!
My judgement on the MB Burgundy: I like it. True Burgundy. Dark enough, but not too dark. Wet enough, but dries reasonably quickly. Nice shading. Fairly water resistant. Good stuff--especially for free. Or, not so free--I did spend a bit too much for the Visconti in Vancouver, so the free inks evened things up! I fgure by the time I bought a shoe of MB ink and a packet of Caran D'ache cartidges and paid shipping, it would be around $35.00. So I value that. Of course, if I decide I really want the correct converter for the Mirage, that'll be another $15 bucks or so. (I'm thinking that can wait until the next time I visit Anderson's in Chicago. Save shipping.)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com