rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















oh what a night
June 17, 2019,

Stress and anxiety are worst on Sunday. Add in idiots with fireworks, and a non-stop cavalcade of sleep interruptions from husband, dog, bladder, temperatures, early-morning chirping birds, and what do you get? I'll give you a hint--the answer sure as hell isn't SLEEP.

I'm effing exhausted.

I got zero peace and solitude last week, he even managed to screw me over on Friday's schedule, by working 6 to 2 and coming home early to do yard work. He came home with what I am presuming was a cobmination peace-offering and anniversary present; two dozen ugly-ass, musty smelling ORANGE roses from the Costco.

I hate cut flowers, especially hate roses, hate the color orange, hate how he NEVER, EVER, gives me an anniversary present ON our anniversary.

After all these decades, it's pretty obvious he has no interest in ever learning anything about my tastes. No wonder I don't even bother to buy him a card anymore, huh?

At least I got to pick out Friday's dinner. Despite him strongly hinting that he wanted Mexican, he said he was giving me the choice, so I stuck by my guns and we had Chinese. (Not from the place I like, of course. He didn't go that far in ceding control.)


WARNING--RANT AHEAD:
My husband never understands why I consider cleaning the bathroom a tough job. He finds it to be a breeze.

Well, yeah. If you only do half the bathroom, and do a half-assed job on what you do clean...that's probably pretty easy.

What it isn't...is cleaning the bathroom.

Same with vacuuming. Three swipes across the middle of the room, and never emptying the machine, is pretty easy. But the rug isn't actually clean.

Also a truth he's never grasped: doing the laundry is slightly more involved than bunging too much dirty laundry into the machine, turning it on, and never coming back.

Honestly, for all the real, useful "help" he provides, I'd much rather just do it all myself, on my own terms.
/rant

On Saturday, our actual anniversary, after we got up in the morning "we" did housework. (see the above rant.) I did the laundry, and cleaned the half of the bathroom that still hadn't been cleaned when he "finished" it, and he half-cleaned the kitchen, and half-vacuumed the rugs, and half-made his bed.

We were kind of waiting to see if it was going to rain, since Spouse had decided we needed to go to PolishFest for our anniversary, if it didn't. (If it did, he was going to drive to Niles for a sit-down Polish dinner.)

But it didn't, so we got cleaned up and dressed and headed up to Milwaukee.

And between the shitty traffic and the fact that while we were there, the temperature dropped 23 degrees--I'm pretty sure it took as much time to get there as we spent at the festival.

We ate well (golabki & mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, kielbasa, and kolacki for me), shopped a bit (I got him a nice polo shirt, he got me a pretty ring) and grew progressively colder until we couldn't stand it anymore and left. We had wanted to stick around and see Mollie B & Squeezebox, but we just couldn't take it. (I was kind of glad he got cold, because I had one of my heart episodes and I was feeling pretty shitty after that.)

We stopped on the way home and did some grocery shopping at the Meijer in Oak Creek. Got some deli ham & cheese for dinner, as we did our big eating at the fest.

Just hung out and didn't do much for the rest of the day. Yay. Happy anniversary!
On Sunday, since it was Father's Day, I got up early and made Spouse breakfast for a change, since he is usually the Sunday Breakfast go-to guy. Juice, coffee, hash browns, SPAM, eggs, and toast. After breakfast, I did dishes, then cleaned the kitchen. (Really cleaned the kitchen.) And then I called my dad and we had a nice Father's Day chat.

Later in the morning, we ran a few errands, as we usually do on Sundays. Festival for some sale items and their potatoes, filled the car back up at the Kwik-Trip, and stopped at Aldi for tuna and a few other things (their tuna is not only miles better than any other, it's at least 20 cents a can cheaper.)

And we finally got around to making our Penzey's run, almost a month after I got the spice cupboard cleared out. We had to--I used the very last of the Sunny Paris in the hash browns.

We pulled into the Chevy dealer on the way home, because we have decided it is about that time--Spouse's Malibu is getting to the point where we need to replace it. We peeked at a 2011 Malibu he'd seen online, but since they were closed we really couldn't do much else. (He called his nephew about it on Monday, but the car had actually been sold Saturday. We're looking at a 2012 next weekend, though. If it's still there, anyway.)

Once we got home, we had a lazy afternoon. Spouse napped, and I read a book and ate too much junk food. I went into the kitchen about three and put together a nice meatloaf, so it had time to sit in the fridge and get good before we put it in the oven. Which we did, a little after four. Spouse made mashed potatoes and steamed some peas to go with, and we had a very nice meal. With half a meatloaf left for Monday's supper.

After we did the dishes and cleaned up the kitchen, we did our morning prep, then enjoyed dessert. Kemp's has a new "simply crafted" ice cream, and the strawberry is really delish--comparable to my all-time favorite strawberry from Land O Lakes.

Spouse had cookies--another recent find. Really delicious oatmeal cookies we got at Meijer--a brand called Red Oval Farms (Mondelez). Just can't be giving them to the B, because while they aren't actually oatmeal-raisin cookies, they do have raisin paste as an ingredient.

And that was the weekend. Cold, windy, damp, rainy, generally shitty weather, and definitely what I would consider one of our lesser anniversaries.

Reading: Actual paper book--"Double Sin and Other Stories", by Agatha Christie. Pulled it off my bookshelf and decided to change things up with some old-school reading. Not doing great--my eyes aren't liking it much. So I am falling back on my ebook of Jean Webster's "Daddy Long Legs". For what could easily be the hundredth time, if I hadn't stopped counting decades ago.

Listening: 70s sounds this morning. Steely Dan, Supertramp, Billy Joel, Jefferson Starship.

Inked Up: One new, three the same. Pilot Vanishing Point medium, with Iroshizuku Chiku-Rin. Visconti Mirage in Emerald, fine nib, with Mont Blanc Burgundy. The Bexley 10th Anniversary with the custom italic nib, with R&K Blu Mare. The Conklin Duragraph fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com