rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















old-school entry
June 03, 2019, 6:51 P.M.

The weekend wasn't too bad. Spouse and I drove down to Zion and picked up pizza for dinner on Friday. Roma is the best, so once we decided we wanted pizza, it was the natural choice. He was home by three due to the early shift, so it was a good Friday to do it--we didn't have to go to sleep on a belly full of pie.

I figured we'd do the yard work when he came home on Friday--he'd made it a point to ask me to pick up the dog debris in the back yard as soon as I got home from work. But even though it was quite nice out--and dry, for a change!--he insisted it could wait till Saturday. He also made it clear that he wanted to go to the Harbor Market on Saturday morning, for the first time this year.


It rained Saturday morning. So we had coffee and orange rolls for breakfast and I hit the laundry hard, just to try and get it all done and out of the way.

We were up early anyway, because B had a laser treatment at 8:00AM. After B's appointment, we took him home, I advanced the wash some more, and I also managed to bang myself up a bit--I slipped on something in the basement and landed hard on the concrete. Slammed both knees, then knocked the wind out of me.

Spouse did his usual trick of ignoring me when I fall in the basement, and I was pretty goddamned steamed. His excuse was "I heard you, but I figured you'd call me if you needed me." (Yeah, well, that assumes a scenario where I don't knock myself out, right?) Besides--the last time I fell down there, I did flat-out scream for help, and the asshole still sat in his chair and ignored me! Fortunately, this time I wasn't damaged, to speak of. I wasn't up to being the bitch he deserved me to be, so he got off pretty easy.

After I picked myself up, dusted myself off, and hobbled up the stairs, we went out to do the shopping. Not a ton to do, really--gas up the Sonic at Costco, hit the Meijer for a few things, go to the meat market, and the bakery, and then a quick jaunt downtown to buy socks at the Jockey Outlet.

Spouse got some there a couple months ago, and liked them so much he wanted to get enough to go at least a week. And since I really like their quality in the underwear, and Spouse said the socks were nice...I bought 9 pairs myself. Not cheap! But not horrible, either, with the outlet discount and the 5% off for being a loyalty member. Plus two of the three packs I bought were marked down to $4.99 and $6.99, which was nice. Great socks! I do like Jockey a lot.

The rain had stopped by then, but Spouse didn't feel like going to the farmer's market after all, so we headed home. It was only 10:45, but we felt like it was noon! We put away the shopping, andthen sat down and had ham sandwiches. I toyed with the idea of a nap (I had several attacks of palpitations Friday and Saturday, and they always exhaust me), but within an hour of our lunch, it was warmer, sunny, and fairly dry. So we did all the yard work, front and back. And had it all done by 1:00 PM! Shortly after, I had the laundry wiped out.

And our planned dinner of deluxe charcoal burgers was endangered shortly after, by a severe thunderstorm warning set to hit right at suppertime.

Well, since the whole damned day seemed to be about an hour and a half ahead of itself, I went into the kitchen at three and made salads, sliced onions and tomatoes, and patted out the burgers. Spouse lit the grill, and we got in just under the wire, with the burgers coming into the house about 45 seconds ahead of the rain arriving.

We ate at four, and those burgers were fantastic, I must say. We had both been craving them, so I'm glad we managed to squeeze them in.

The weather hit very hard, and in a couple of waves--but we didn't get the hail that hit a lot of the area. Poured rain, though. Ugh. But again--by 6:00, it was sunny out again. Very chilly, though. Good for sleeping, at least! Early bed, just like everything else all day long.
Sunday was gorgeous. Bright, sunny, dry, and warm, not hot. Since the yard and laundry were done, we got up slow, and Spouse made a lovely Sunday breakfast of eggs, bacon, hash browns, and bakery bread toast, with coffee and OJ. Superb! While he cooked, I cleaned out the spice cupboard and made a list of things we needed to replace. Not a big job, but it counts towards my weekly decluttering goal, which I haven't been meeting lately.

After breakfast and dishes and assorted housework, we rolled out eventually and made a trip to Menards for a couple things, then ran out to the spice store--but it wasn't open yet, so we turned around and went to the KwikTrip and washed, vacuumed, and dusted the Sonic. Then we stopped at Festival and got potatoes and a few of the sale ad items.

Once that was done, we made some fence repairs, and then relaxed in the afternoon. I did pen maintenance and worked on finishing my fountain pen catalog spreadsheet (and having a glass of pinot grigio), Spouse & the B napped, and then Spouse got up to pack--he's got training in Detroit on Tuesday, and he's driving, so he's leaving for work today (Monday) and won't be home till Wednesday. (I'm planning on taking some time off Tuesday, just to enjoy the meeeeee time!)

He decided he wanted to borrow my small black roller bag, because his carry-on bag is getting pretty shot. So I went to pull it off my closet shelf for him--and knocked down the closet light. Since I was right below it, looking up...took the damn thing straight to the nose. OUCH.

No serious damage, at least. It did, for the record, hurt like holy hell, though.

Spouse made another lovely meal for dinner; oven-roasted chicken breasts, mashed potatoes and gravy, and baby peas. Quite delicious. My contribution to the meal consisted of A) buttering the peas and B) washing all of the quite considerable number of dishes he managed to dirty for such a simple meal.

We watched some TV, and then he hit the mattress, and I fiddled around on Youtube, then played computer slots and computer solitaire till bedtime.

And when I got home from work today, I gave B some extra love, had leftover pizza for my dinner, called and basked in the delicious solitude by writing a big, long-winded diary entry!



Reading:"My Mother was Nuts" (2012), by Penny Marshall. I haven't picked it back up in a few days. I keep all the Kindle stuff on my old phone, and sometimes I can't be bothered to turn it on just to read.

Listening: All over the place today--from Kay Kyser to Slipknot.

Inked Up: Bulow/JinHao X450 Midnight Black, medium nib, inked with Conway Stewart Bodmin (black). Visconti Mirage in Emerald, fine nib, with Mont Blanc Burgundy. The Bexley 10th Anniversary with the custom italic nib, with R&K Blu Mare. The Conklin Duragraph fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.
I kept the Visconti, Bexley and Conklin going, but rotated out the Lamy Studio for the X450--one of my first pens when I got back into FPs, and a perfectly decent old girl. High time she had an airing. I had actually bought a cheap 5-pack of these at the time off of Amazon, and the "working" parts were all over the place as to quality. I ended up figuring out which body colors I like best, and moving all the (actually) working parts to my favorites. The two best ended up being the Scintillio Red and the Midnight Black. I also cleaned out the Visconti and changed over to Mont Blanc Burgundy. After it brightened up, the Caran D'ache turquoise was too close to the R&K Blu Mare in the Bexley! I'm reserving judgement on the MB Burgundy; I need the chance to use it. This was my free bottle of ink that came with the purchase of the Visconti. I'm not wild about burgundy, but I wanted to try the Mont Blanc in something other than Irish Green.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com