rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















back up to speed
March 25, 2019,

Friday: I had excruciatingly slow morning at work. I was by myself, too, so it was painfully quiet. And coming from me, who generally likes things to be uneventful, you know it was D-E-A-D. Which is as stressful, it its way, as when everything is hectic. Too much dead time and they start looking at staffing.

Anyway, thank goodness a couple of my friends from IT stopped by, or I wouldn't have spoken to a soul my entire shift.

After work, I came straight home and heated up some leftover pasta for lunch, then did some laundry, plus a little housecleaning, and relaxed a bit.

Spouse picked me up after he got off work and we went out to the local diner for supper--I had a really nice little shrimp basket and a salad, and he did the full roast turkey dinner.

Spouse was feeling peppy after a good meal, so we ran out to the Meijer and did a little grocery shopping before heading home.


We got up and did a few things around the house on Saturday, and had coffee and a pan of poppinfresh orange rolls for breakfast. Then we got ready and set out on our errands--dropped off his jeans at the dry cleaners for shortening, picked up a couple of things at the hardware store, filled up the Sonic at Costco, and then it was time for the errand I was dreading.

But...the dress-shopping went better than I expected. We went to Penney's Saturday morning. (And I had thought ahead--I woke up in the night to go to the bathroom, and had a lightbulb moment that I should wear my shapewear under my jeans. I pulled out a girdle as a reminder, and went back to sleep.) I also took my dress sandals along--thinking smart all over the place!

I tried on about 3 or four styles in various sizes (was pleasantly surprised to find 24 and 3X were way too big in the ones I tried) tried on about eight altogether, and found one I liked that was pretty, fit well, covered my bingo wings, went with my shoes, and was on sale for $54.99. I also picked up a couple more bras.

And got a little unwelcome news--the new pale blue version of my bra doesn't even come in my size. How stupid is that?

It was a lovely, sunny day on Saturday, with temps in the high 50s. So Spouse wanted a cookout, of course. Once I was done dress-shopping, we swung by the meat market and got a few things, including some of their excellent ground sirloin for burgers.

And at home, we got busy. I made coleslaw and macaroni salad, brewed up a pitcher of iced tea, cut up a lemon, and cleaned up all my prep mess. Spouse helped with the coleslaw (inaugurated his new Cuisinart mini-chopper) and made a little batch of baked beans, so we were all set for a proper cookout. We were so busy we skipped lunch, so he grilled the burgers about 4:00, and we ate early. Tres YUM!

We cleaned up after dinner, did a little laundry, then got a wild notion and spent some time cleaning out Spouse's closet. We ended up with several bags of donations, a garbage bag of trash, and a laundry basket full of empty hangers. And a much roomier closet!
We had a yummy Sunday Breakfast, starting coffeee from fresh-ground Sumatran beans, brewed pour-over. Then Spouse sarted with his favorite tomato juice, and I had fresh grapefruit. Followed by butcher shop bacon and eggs over-medium with toasted English muffins. Very nice. After breakfast was dispensed with, Spouse did car maintenance and I went through some of my stuff and filled another donation bag, then we got dressed and ran out to the Goodwill to drop off. Then we took a ride up to Sturtevant to the Farm and Fleet, and I found a pair of crop pants and a couple of pairs of shorts for the trip.Plus dog treats, wrap for B's leg, and a bag of cashews for Spouse. (And two more boxes of G.S. Cookies!)

When we got home, Spouse took pictures of the little dents on my car (not me! they were there when I got it!) and emailed them to a local dent repair guy for an estimate. The guy called about it, and we are going to take it over there when Spouse gets home from work on Wednesday for a firm estimate.

We bummed around in the afternoon, watching travel shows on Amazon Prime, and I cleaned out my undies drawer a bit to make room for all the new panties and bras I've bought lately. Spouse made a simple dinner of grilled pork steaks, baked potatoes and carrots. He went to stretch out on his bed and read after dinner, and I spent the rest of the evening watching videos of Sondheim songs on YouTube (oh, what a wonderful rabbit hole!), and doing my Monday morning prep.

There! Seems like old times--got my actual life (a/k/a "weekend) all logged. FWIW, I guess. Having this stuff written down helps me, anyway. Tonight is an easy dinner--sloppy joes and salads, to use up the rest of the macaroni, coleslaw, and buns from Saturday.

Reading: "The Secret Adversary", 1922, by Agatha Christie. The first Tommy & Tuppence. "The Career of Claudia", 1897, by Frances Peard.

Listening: Doris Day, Jerry Lewis, Fats Domino.

Inked Up: Levenger Facets Charcoal, medium nib, with Iroshizuku Chiku-Rin (Bamboo Forest). My Pilot Metropolitan turquoise Retro Pop, fine nib, with Namiki purple. The Conklin Duragraph fine with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com