rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















just jumping back in here
March 22, 2019,

Well, last weekend had its ups and downs.

Saturday was a bright and sunny day--if a bit chilly. We took off early and drove out to Hoffman Estates so Spouse could try on jeans at Duluth Trading Company. He found some he like, that fit him well--but they only came in 30-inch inseam or longer, and my looooong-waisted guy is all torso, and no legs. He needs a 28-inch. So we will have to have them shortened. I'm hoping that it is an alteration that the dry-cleaner can do. If not, I have no idea where we'll end up taking them.

On the way back, we stopped in Buffalo grove and had lunch at Lou Malnoti's--the signature classic deep-dish pizza. We ended up bring back half of it and freezing it for later.

It was while we were waiting for lunch that I had the angina attack. Them mofos is scary, I tell ya! I can hardly describe it--like tight iron bands gripping everything from my neck to my waist--arms included. Painful, unpleasant, and having a "Harrison Bergeron" effect of completely disrupting all coherent thought. VERY unsettling. And I'd already had palpitations once, so that was the icing on the bun.

I wasn't much good after that, for the rest of the day. Good thing I had humped to get all of the laundry done on Friday.

Sunday was kind of bad, too. No angina, but four major episodes of palpitations, and some that felt like "near misses"--like it was starting, but never got very far.


So I wasn't much good Sunday, either.

We ran downtown to the Jockey store so I could pick up underwear--I got a pack from there the week before to try them out, and really liked them, so I went back and bought two more packs. With ShopKo closing, I have to find a new place to buy undies! I was hesitant to go from spending about ten bucks for 6 pair (Fruit of the Loom), to buying Jockeys, which retail for about $22.50 for THREE pairs. But--a benefit of living in Jockey's home town--the two outlet stores our area give 30% off, plus an additional 5% if you sign up for their loyalty program. Still more expensive, but hopefully worth the money. I have to say I am pretty impressed so far, with the fit (I barely made it there, but their size 11 is very generous!), the color selection, the cut, and the quality of the fabric and stitching. Time will tell if they hold up for the long run, but I'm betting they will. I have nine pairs, which is a nice number. One pack came in white with navy pin dots, light blue, and navy, one pack is light grey, dark grey, and black, and the third pack is all-black. Boring, but it works for me! I need to get one more pack of something plain and light for summer, though.

Spouse and I also made the traditional for dinner--corned beef boiled dinner with cabbage. Except we made it low and slow in the oven, live a pot roast, and I made my cabbage separately so I could control the cooking better. I hate the taste and smell of overcooked cabbage, so I simmered it briefly on the stove, with a couple of ladles of the corned beef braising liquid. Everything came out phenomenally well, and the only problem for me was--all those stupid spells of crappiness took away my appetite.

After we go the dinner into the oven, I lay down for about three hours, and slept for maybe an hour of it. Like I said--I'm not much good after that stuff.
The week days don't have much going on other than fighting my way to and from work, alternating between being busier than shit and having nothing to do AT work, and coming home to bung something together for dinner, and going to bed almost as soon as the dishes are washed.

Spouse has been putting in overtime a couple days a week for the last few weeks. He's not a lot of fun when he does that. And we really need our vacation. About the only fun conversations we have are regarding the cruise plans--the rest of the time we bicker and snap.

Talked to my dad on Thursday, for the first time in a month. It was easier to get ahold of him before he retired! Even yesterday, I finally got through to him and he told me he'd have to call back because he was busy--and he called me an hour and a half later! Sounds like he's doing pretty well, if he can do that much running around. He is pretty broken up about ShopKo, too--like me, he bought a lot of clothes and household items there.
This weekend, I need to go to Penney's and maybe Catherines, because I need to find a new dress for the cruise. Ugh. I hate shopping for dresses. I haven't bought a dress since my uncle died in 2012. Bleah.

Reading: A bit of Agatha Christie--"Murder on the Links" from 1923 (really not very good, but I think it was only her second Poirot, so I finished it.) And "The Secret Adversary", from 1922. Another very early one--that is nonetheless perfectly delightful, even when reading it for what has to be the 20th time. I love me some Tommy & Tuppence!

Listening: Since I got Sirius-XM, I have fallen into a groove (rut?) of popping between a few stations: mellow 70s rock, GAS standards, 40's swing, Broadway, blues, jazz, and 90s alt/grunge. I may change it up if I get bored with those.

Inked Up: The Pilot Penmanship & Sheaffer Javelin were decommissioned this week--I burned through the vintage Sheaffer Peacock Blue cartridge, and I re-purposed the purple Namiki cartidge from the Penmanship to my Metropolitan fine-nib, in the turquoise Retro Pop body. I only have that and the Conklin Duragraph fine with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown inked at the moment.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com