rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















mothers day
May 10, 2016

Mother's Day is weird for me since my mom died--well, really--it started getting weird when my little brother died, and it got worse when my beloved Uncle died on Mother's Day, and losing Mom herself was just the last straw.

But Spouse knows the day screws with me severely, so bless his heart, he spoiled me a bit. On Friday, he came home from work with a wonderful 3-D printed pen cup shaped like Bender's (Futurama) head! He also brought me a lovely gift of high-end exfoliating scrub and body oil, because he knows I'm into that stuff, and a very nice little citron-ginger scented candle.

On Mother's Day itself, he made me blackberry french toast for breakfast, and later, he took me out garden-shopping, and we got a lovely scarlet begonia in a hanging pot, and a rosebush which we planted at the corner of the garage. Oh, and a Hello, Kitty! planter pick.

And for dinner, he made chicken parmesan.

I know I use this forum to bitch about him a lot, but he really is a sweet old fart sometimes.


Auntie got her flowers on Saturday, and she and Cousin were delighted with them. Young Cousin sent me a photo of Auntie with them; and they really did turn out to be stunningly fresh and gorgeous. Pretty impressive for a box of posies that flew all the way from Bogota, Columbia to Miami, Florida to Louisville, Kentucky, to Phoenix, Arizona--then spent most of the day in a UPS truck!

And, very sadly--once again, my flowers seemed to arrive just when they were needed most. It seems that the man who was my Uncle's life-long best friend--the guy who carried him out of the woods and saved his life when he shot his leg off at the age of 18--had died on Friday. Died pretty horridly, pinned under a piece of farm machinery. Stubborn old Iowa farmer, doing what he'd been doing his whole life, and never stopping to think he maybe couldn't do it anymore. But even though it is very sad, and a nasty way to go, I think the alternative, for him, was going to be worse. He'd had some very bad news regarding his health recently, so going out with his farming boots on was probably what he would have preferred.

One thing I found particularly sweet--in his obituary yesterday, they honored the lifelong BFF bromance with Uncle by mentioning him in the "preceeded in death by" section. Cousin is flying back here for the funeral; Auntie is staying behind. Ostensibly to wrangle the teenager and the pets, but I suspect ulterior motives (After all, my dad would be perfectly capable of teenager & pet detail). She wiggles out of funerals every time--she's as bad as my late father-in-law, in that respect. She has a horror of them.
I need to talk about work for a minute: sonuvabiatch is it ever sucking at the moment. And not just the job, but the management, the benefits, and even the stinking premium reduction incentive--all of it. Sucks like a Hoover vacuum cleaner. And nothing I can do about it, apparently. There. I'm done talking about work now.

Done talking, full stop, in fact.





Reading: "The Woman in the Alcove" (1914), by Jennette Lee

Listening: Green Day, "International Superhits!"

Inked Up: Actually feels like everything I own, at the moment. If you want details, go back an entry. I need to remember--if you ink up more than four pens, it takes forever to write them dry again!

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com