rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















blurry
May 17, 2016

Honestly, life seems to be racing past so fast, no time for anything but grinding away, trying to get the bare minumum done in 24 hours--and it's just destroying me. I'm to the point where I can juuust remember that Spouse said something to me on Sunday--but I can't remember WHICH Sunday, because they all seem to pile up so fast!

And between straining my sacro last week and the frigging weather continuing to suck donkey balls, I got zero gardening done this weekend. Friday, I was in so much pain I was pretty much a basket case, and Saturday wasn't much better. I dragged myself through our usual weekend errands and chores, baked a cake because Spouse requested one (French vanilla cake with vanilla bean buttercream frosting), and crashed hard in the late afternoon.

I picked up some vitamins when we were at Costco. B12 and Biotin, both sub-lingual. I'm hoping that they will help my energy levels, and possibly improve the abysmal state of my nails, skin and hair.


The weather improved somewhat on Sunday, but it was so chilly, and the ground was still so wet, that we contented ourselves with just getting the grass cut. Well, Spouse cut the grass--I worked inside, stripping, airing and changing the beds, do laundry, cleaning the kitchen & bathroom, etc. Again--the bare minimum to keep us from descending into chaos.

Oh--and I made my every-other-week call to my dad. I kind of wish that he'd get in the game, and call ME on the weeks when I don't call him, but he only calls me if there is an issue, or if I haven't called him in about 3-4 weeks. So apparently he's fine with talking to his only daughter every two weeks, I guess?

But things are going pretty good with him, so that's reassuring. I'm thrilled that he's decided not to drive back, incidentally. Originally, Auntie was coming along and they were going to drive. But Auntie's plans were abruptly changed with the death of my uncle's friend, since that was where she was planning to stay. So Dad booked a plane ticket, instead.
Well, the visit from young cousin is definitely on, so I requested a couple days of vacation during the week he's going to be here. Assuming I'm still employed then, it's approved. The way shit's been going, I'm not taking it for granted. Right now, I feel like something is going to give very shortly--and it is either me giving my notice, or them giving me a pink slip.

What I really need is a week off PRIOR to his arrival, so I can get my house in a suitable shape to receive a visitor. There is so much that needs to get done, and I have no idea how, or when, it is going to.





Reading: "Kitty Canary" (1913), by Kate Langley Bosher

Listening: Cheap Trick, Dire Straits, Bruce Springsteen, Chicago

Inked Up: After realizing I was abusing & neglecting the equipment by having (ahem) NINE pens inked at the same time, I did a mass pen-cleaning yesterday and got the number down to my acceptable level of four pens: Pilot Metro/R&K Solferina, Conklin Duragraph/Pelikan Brilliant Brown, Lamy Safari/Waterman Tender Purple, and Sheaffer Javelin/Sheaffer Skrip Blue-Black. (And the Monteverde Artista, Levenger Splendor Encore, Jin-Hao X750, Skilcraft Executive Blue, and Sheaffer No-Nonsense are cleaned, and lined up nicely in the drying rack.)

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com