rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















tum pluckered
December 14, 2015

I am dragging ass. Beat down to my feet. And the list of things still undone seems to be as long as ever. I cannot even imagine what it would be like to do an entire Christmas, and not just selected aspects. Cards still aren't done, tree still isn't up, gifts aren't wrapped, dining room table is still buried under a mountain of crap, and I'm not done baking, either. I baked 9 dozen cookies on Friday (two variations of sugar, and three of peanut butter), and another 6 dozen on Sunday (M&M), and there are barely any left lying around after the big sealing and packing project.

But--the big boxes to Dad and to Arizona Auntie are all packed, and shipping today. Including this year's Merry Mix CD--a tradition that I was going to abandon, but decided to do anyway--at the last minute. This year Auntie is getting a jazz legends themed album. Oscar Peterson, Dinah Washington, Ella Fitzgereald, etc. Those CDs are a pretty good sized project, and I did think about giving them up, given all the modern music options there are--but Auntie appreciates them, and the time and love I put into them.

California Auntie's gift is on its way--I ordered more of the Letterbox tea from Collectivo in Milwaukee that she likes (a ginger-cirtus blend called REVV). A large tray of treats accompanied Spouse to work today, and another plate of goodies has been prepared and sealed up, awaiting my next visit to W&T (next week, because they're getting fruitcake, too, and that still has a week to cure).

Christmas shopping is done, down to assorted cats and dogs. Spouse's hat was delivered yesterday, which shocked me, but I was darned glad to see it arrive. I am so pleased to actually find and procure two things he really wants and needs! (Now let's hope they FIT.)

The bathroom is scrubbed. Kitchen cleaned. Laundry--most of it--is done (still have to change the beds and wash the sheets). Regular shopping is done, cars are filled up, the dog got his blood test and his bordatella shot.

So it was a very productive weekend. But not as productive as I'd counted on being. I just hate this middle-aged lack of stamina!


Even this entry is shorter than I want it to be, but it's a case of "No--is too much. Let me sum up". Just too much going on.



Reading: "Ruth Fielding in Moving Pictures; Or, Helping The Dormitory Fund" (1916), by Alice B. Emerson and “Jimmie the Sixth” (1918), by Frances R. Sterrett. Well, not reading, per se. More like "got to the middle and can't find the time to proceed."

Listening: I didn't even bother today. I'm craving the silence again.

Inked Up: Oh, the same old thing--four inked up. Conklin Duragraph fine/Pelikan Brilliant Brown, Skilcraft Executive fine/Binder Burgundy, Nemosine Fission .8 stub/Montblanc Kelly Green, and Delta Serena broad/Waterman Tender Purple. Can't change them out till I write them out, and I just haven't had the time to do that.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com