rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















loss of momentum
December 15, 2015

I got Christmas cards done, and mailed. I wasn't much good for anything else last night, so I hiked up my BGPs and did my Christmas cards. As an enticement, I allowed myself to do them in fountain pen ink this year. (But given FP ink's distinct lack of waterproofness, I went over all the addresses with a piece of wax to provide them with a raincoat, before I posted them.)

Spouse took this afternoon off to cook for his office luncheon tomorrow--he's bringing the stuffing and gravy, so he wanted to get it done. Lucky duck still has some vacation left. Lucky people he works with, getting to eat up all my cookies and his stuffing and gravy! He made steamed rice and veggies with some of the packaged mandarin chicken we got at Costco for dinner.

I wish I had the oomph in me to put up the tree. Which is a laugh, because "putting up the tree" is about as difficult as plugging in a lamp. One piece, pre-lit, pre-decorated, and basically you just bring it upstairs, pull off the dust cover, plug it in, and bada-boom. Just goes to show exactly how little oomph I do have. I do have to wrap my "white elephant" gift for the work luncheon tomorrow, though. Probably should go do that. And put out the trash for garbage day. And fold the load of towels sitting in the basket.





Reading: "Ruth Fielding In Moving Pictures: Or, Helping the Dormitory Fund", Copyright 1916 (Ruth Fielding #9) Not really feeling it, though. I have three reading apps full of books, and can't find anything I'm in the mood for. Because I really have NO idea what I'm in the mood for. Ugh. Interesting thing, though. On this day in 2009, I was reading the very same book.

Listening: REM, UB40, George Ezra. (My non-Christmas thumb drive is all janky and weird; I was forced to listen to the radio this morning. I'll have to delete everything and start over, I guess.)

Inked Up: Finally wrote not one, but two pens dry--the Nemosine and the Skilcraft gave up when I was doing my Christmas cards. So I gave them both a good cleaning and took them out of circulation. Then I treated myself to something special--I inked up my favorite Bülow X450 with the Iroshizuku Kosomosu sample I've been saving since my birthday, and I filled my Waterman with Iroshizuku Kon Peki. Two of my favorite pens, filled with my favorite brand of high-end ink, and both of them writing like a dream come true. What a wonderful mood-elevator.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com