rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















examined
August 25, 2015

Had the dreaded annual physical on Friday. And since I was due for my pap, I certainly wasn't looking forward to it. The student this time was a PA, and very nice. Doc was his usual kind and genial self. I really feel I'm doing my part for the future of the medical profession by allowing students to give me a pap test. She had a little trouble locating the cervix, so it took a bit longer than I'd have preferred. Not fun, but at least the speculum didn't shoot across the room this time!

I was determined by the two of them to be in fairly decent shape--well, good shape for a fat, middle-aged, menopausal, hypothyroid depressive, anyway. Doc was satisfied with my mental state; I guess I have higher expectations than he does, but he isn't a shrink, after all. Apparently I get way too much stuff done to possibly be in a bad mental state. He was really interested in my fitness tracker, and had to go all through the app and check it out. Since I'd ended up doing all the yard work myself on Thursday, I was able to bring up some really impressive numbers to show him.

I've already gotten the results of all my bloodwork back. Thyroid numbers are good, as are other metabolic tests, and my bloodwork and lipid panel were decent. My cholesterol is up slightly, both the LDL and HDL. Still waiting on the pap.

And they re-authed my meds, which I needed to get done. Really, the most unpleasant thing (aside from the plevic, anyway) was his latest "prescription"...I quote: "join a gym, get a trainer". Seriously?! Just...NO. What a nightmare that would be! Expensive, too!

So I'm thinking maybe, if I can lose about 10% of my bodyweight without resorting to that, he'll let me off the hook. A mighty big if, I know--but I just need to buckle down and DO it. Anyway--that's the optometrist, dentist, and MD exams out of the way. Not due for a mammogram, colonoscopy, or bone scan this year, so I should be done for the rest of the year.


So Friday night, we went out to the lodge to eat. I really wasn't in the mood, believe me, but I wanted to make Spouse happy, so I went along with it. Had a drink, then dinner--he had the spaghetti and meatballs special, but I ordered baked cod, baked potato, & salad. Very good. LARGE portions, though. I think I brought more home than I ate. He had another drink after dinner, but one's enough for me. I just ordered a seltzer & lime.

He's kind of lazing out on me lately. He hasn't done any laundry in two weeks, I've ended up with the lion's share of the yard work, and he even punked out on cooking dinner Sunday. The light fixture broke in the kitchen, and his response was that it still worked. kinda. so what was the big deal? He came home early from work yesterday, too, complaining of headache. Not sure what's going on, but something is up. He's showing some of his key behaviors for depression. In addition to the laziness, he's more been irritable and dickish than usual, as well. Just really fed up with his endless, bitchy blather. He thinks he's being funny, and he thinks every silence has to be filled. I was ready to stuff a pillow in his mouth just to shut him up. Honestly, by Sunday evening, I was considering running away from home to get away from him.

I really wish I only had to be hyper-aware of my own problems, and not his, too.
Just a really light weekend, really. The usual shopping and housework and laundry, and enjoying the backyard (pool for me, cigar for him). As I said--he ain't doing much.
I've been having repeated issues with my Jawbone tracker. I don't know if it's the tracker or the app or the bluetooth, but it isn't picking up my step count, even though everything appears to be syncing and paired and it gets my sleep mode numbers without any hassle. I've reported it; hopefully something will get fixed.



Reading: "A City Schoolgirl" (1912), by May Baldwin. (The "City" is London.)

Listening: Pat Benatar, Elton John, Billy Joel, The Doobie Brothers (Listening to the "oldies" station today)

Inked Up: Bülow X450 (Vanilla Curve) medium nib, loaded with a customized teal that I mixed from Pelikan 4001 turquoise, green, and royal blue inks.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com