rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















3 days away
August 31, 2015

I took a three day holiday from FB and tumblr, and it felt surprisingly good. I got a few things done that I'd been putting off, Spouse and I took a little trip down to Evanston and did some shopping--I found a shop that sold fountain pens and managed to score two nice pens and a 50ml bottle of Waterman ink (tender purple), and still keep it under a c-note.

We also bought groceries at the new Valli Produce store--lots of guilty pleasures to choose from there! I picked up some of my favorite tea biscuits and a new variety of Twinings tea (Twinings Premium Black, Mixed Berry), plus some German blackberry and pear bonbons, and some of my favorite Haribo Ginger-Lemon gummis. We stopped on in Skokie on the way back, to pick up some bagels at New York Bagel & Bialy, which is most authentic bagel place in the Chicago area.

Relaxed, read, played with my new toys, puttered around the house--and realized how stressful social media had gotten to be for me. I think I will be scaling back from now on.


The pens I got were a good price. A Sheaffer 100, gloss purple with a neat dotted pattern in white---a fine nib. That was $45.00. And the real bargain was a Parker IM Premium---medium nib, described on the Parker website as "metallic brown lacquer rythmed by a unique pattern engraved with fine straight graphic lines, and trimmed in chrome." Which was marked down from $64.00 to $30.00, and was therefore irresistible. Also very quietly stylish, and beautiful. The lady at Good's was super-nice and helpful, too. And the place is a half-block from the METRA station, on the same line that runs to Kenosha--so I am pretty sure I'll be going back soon. No need to wait for Spouse to tackle the driving!
Definitely not a perfect weekend; chilly, rainy and gray. The downpour on Saturday revealed one other rather dismaying note: a roof leak. Directly over the kitchen sink, thank the cosmos for small favors. Going to have to get an estimate on repairs. And the B managed somehow to injure his paw. As is his custom when inflicting mischief on himself, he did it on Saturday evening. Been keeping an eye on it, in case we need to take him to the vet.

Then there's this today--my dad is back in the hospital with the bleeding and the clotting and the general agony. At least he called me this time, to let me know. Still doesn't want me to come down, though.



Reading: "Sarah's School Friend" (1910), by May Baldwin.

Listening: Tom Petty, Wilco, The Knack, Men at Work.

Inked Up: The new purple Sheaffer, inked up from the new bottle of Waterman purple.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com