rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















thursday gab
August 20, 2015

Working on my list of stuff to discuss at my doctor appointment tomorrow.  So far, I have the energy-sucking hat-trick of depression, menopause, and Hashimoto's, the possibility of getting some skin tags removed before my insurance goes to shit at the end of the year, my persistent hip and back pain, and sleep issues. And that's just getting started.

There will be bloodwork, so I will need to fast tomorrow, which means no coffee. I think I'll make myself some plain iced tea tonight, and take that in the morning for the caffeine. I gotta have something!


Spouse wants to go to the Moose lodge tomorrow night, since his membership card finally arrived this week. Not looking forward to it. I never have very much fun in bars--since I don't really drink, it gets pretty boring, pretty fast. And I can't hear people--it's just a loud, indeterminate racket. The dinner menu for tomorrow night isn't something I care to go out for, either--spaghetti and meatballs. But sometimes I have to make him happy, so I'll try to bear it with good grace.
Tonight is yard work, since we have to get it done. My low back and hips are killing me, so this should be fun. At least the weather is decent. Partly cloudy, windy, and cool. Good weather for mowing. Still getting adjusted to the new glasses. And still cheating at times, because I can't take the time to fuss with trying to get the focus right--I need it to just BE right. So I slap on my old ones so I can get my work done.
Speaking of work--going through kind of a work slump at the moment, which always makes me nervous. I hate having to ask for more work--makes me anxious.
Hobby-wise, I'm kind of stalled. I have a couple of half-done projects I need to finish, but when I have the time, I don't have the energy or the patience.  I am refraining from spending on pens and ink right now because I'm saving for a splurgy trip to Anderson Pens for my birthday (Spouse had damn well better not screw me on that!). But the best thing about collecting pens and inks is what a joy it is to use your collection, and that's what I am doing at the moment--just enjoying what I have.
Finally got to have my BLT & sweet corn last night; it was an absolutely perfect high summer supper. The corn was perfect, the lettuce fresh and crisp, the beefsteak tomatoes were peak ripeness and simply sublime; even the iced tea struck a beautiful note. BLTs are still a treat, something that hasn't gotten overly available and familiar over the years. It helps that I don't care for those available in restaurants--like meatloaf, I believe that the only real option is homemade. We only have them maybe once or twice a year at most, so they still retain their special appeal.  With the "baconing of America" in recent years, I've actually scaled back my bacon consumption--refined my taste so that if I can't have good quality, I won't have it at all.



READING:
"Latter-Day Sweethearts" (1906), by  Mrs. Burton Harrison (Constance Cary Harrison).

LISTENING:
Queen, UB40, Tame Impala, and...WTF? Rick Springfield!?

INKED UP:
Doing some editing today, so I'm using my SkilCraft Executive Burgundy, fine nib, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Red. Not really doing much fiddling with the pens; just using them every day. I'm really happy with everything I have loaded up at the moment--good pen/ink combinations.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com