rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















ahhh
December 20, 2013

Work was quiet this morning; lots of people have already started their Christmas vacations. I have a ton of fiddly, concentration-heavy tasks right now, so I appreciated the subdued tone of the office. I've had to resort to the headphones or the earplugs a lot lately, so it was a nice change. And Spouse drove me in, since it was drizzly and freezy.

And oh, yeah. One other thing happened. I got a call from my senior veep. Now I almost never hear from this guy directly, so my heart was in my mouth. I figured I was either in trouble, or there was some kind of emergency that they needed me to respond to. Either way--my heart was in my mouth.

Turns out he called me to let me know that my last paycheck of the year will include a $1500.00 bonus for my hard work, dedication, and contribution to the success of the project I've been assigned to this past year. A "thank you" that is not being extended to everyone, I was told--just "certain individuals key to the success of the endeavor".

I am not always in love with my job, but I have to say I certainly am today!


And now--I'm off till next Thursday, hooray! I'm ready for it. I've had a busy week, at work and after work. I usually spend my weeknight evenings vegging on the computer and not getting anything accomplished, but this week has been one where I got a buttload done: shower presents ordered for two of my impending nieces-in-law, designed and compiled a Christmas CD, complete with cover, baked and decorated another batch of sugar cookies, had a long talk on the phone with each of my parents, packed my fruitcakes for shipping, and posted to my diary (twice). Plus today's shopping: Festival for groceries, and Farm & Fleet because I needed Bag Balm and baking supplies. Pretty good for an old tired thing like me, at a time of year when I am none-too-peppy.

I said the other day I was going to treat myself to new jeans, and hot damn, I managed to score TWO pairs of Lee Riders in exactly my size and length for the price of one pair at Catherine�s. I got a blue pair and a black pair. And this bad boy: a Wilton Silicone Rolling Pin. Ohh, yeah.

Went to F&F today mostly because Spouse had an interview in Sturtevant, and wanted me to come along. I didn't want to sit in the cold car & wait, so he dropped me at the store and I browsed around while he went & did his thing. I love "Farm & Barn" as it is affectionately known around our house. Just a country girl at bottom, I guess. It's just such a practical place. I mean--my wedding bouquet came from there, for goodness' sake! And any place where I can get a sump pump, new tires, baking supplies, toys, pet food, birdseed, canning supplies, hip waders, throw rugs, new shoes, and a horsewhip? To my practical little heart, that is heaven

The weather is rapidly turning to shit, so my big plan for the weekend is to get the usual housework done, plus do a bunch of baking. I want to make a loaf or two of date-nut bread, do a batch of M&M cookies, a batch of pepperkakor, I need to make Spritz (of course!), and I have some candies I want to do. I have chocolate mint melts for molding, and I want to make a batch of my butter mints as well. So I plan on being pretty darned busy--but happy-busy (or at least contented-busy). And aside from all that, I am sure there will be shoveling to do.
Spouse's doctor looked at his foot on Thursday, and--what a shock--the verdict was "It's been bearing all your weight, and you don't wear decent shoes, resulting in a case of plantar fasciitis." Ahem. Score another one for the wife. And the other foot hurts because it has been babied for 6 months, and naturally, it needs to get built back up. I need to help him learn to do PF stretches and he needs some orthotics that are specifically for the condition. And now that he has that Dx, and it isn't clotting again--maybe he will stop being such a frigging baby and get his ass to doing something! And pigs will fly, right?
We had a bit of a go-round last night, because he went out at 9:00 pm to meet and hang out with some buddies he used to work with. I didn't think it was a good idea, but he decided he wanted to do it. So I was pretty blunt in my disapproval. I mean--on the one hand, I do understand that he needs to get out and do stuff and see people. I get that. But on the other hand--so do I! I don't have the time or the money to have any kind of social life--I'm too busy making us a living and trying to keep my shit together and trying to help him keep his shit together.

He wasn't gone long, so I think I got my point across. He said it was because there were some people there he didn't like, and because everyone stank like smoke. But I think it was conscience pricking him.
Oh yeah�this Target thing. It figures. I never shop at Target, but the week I use my debit card once in the store and twice on their website is the week where they have a massive data theft. Well, that's why I use a pre-paid card. They can't steal what isn't there. Now I will have to go change my pin, though. Poop.




Reading: In an effort to get myself back reading again, I'm having a re-read of Louisa May Alcotts's "An Old Fashioned Girl" (1870). And snarking at it where appropriate.

Listening: Pandora--listening to various comedians

At Random:
click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com