rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















loot
December 26, 2013

Not a bad December:
1. silver chain
2. electric blanket
3. new car charger for phone
4. black pashmina scarf
5. good pair of winter gloves
6. 2014 wall calendar
7. set of silicone pie crust shields
8. Wilton silicone rolling pin
9. new pair of jeans (black, blue)
10. double-layer slipper-socks
11. target gift card $25
12. new potholders & oven mitts for the kitchen
13. new winter goose-down jacket (magenta and black)
14. new dressy winter coat (red trimmed in black)
15. bonefish grille gift card $50
16. $1500 bonus
17. and...even got a totally shocking phone call from my oldest brother

Not a shabby haul at all--especially when you consider that none of those were actually Christmas gifts. 1-10 were things I bought for myself. Number 11, I won in a raffle. 12-14 were cast-offs (albeit fantastic ones) from my mom. 15-16 came as merit rewards from my employers, because I hustled my ass off this year. And the phone call was basically because my dad called him and lectured him about never calling his sister! (I was still very happy to hear from him, though)


I rather enjoyed my time off. I spent quite a bit of time baking, but I didn't get my Spritz cookies done, I'm afraid. :( Spouse was watching Ree Drummond and decided he simply had to have her Malted Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies. If that wasn't a grand old pain in the tuchas. They were hard to scoop, could only be baked 8 at a time, had to be turned halfway through the baking, and required a close eye to make sure they didn't overbake. Took a ridiculous amount of time and energy, and I could have gotten two normal batches done in that time. Plus, I think they taste nasty. But he really seems to like them, so whatever. That is what is important. Right?

I am way fed up with him after 5.5 days of his almost-constant presence. And his rather brazen sense of entitlement--I work my fingers to the bone and earn a big bonus, while he plays Peg Bundy at home, so what does he start going on about? Well, it seems that he takes it as a given that I am going to take some of that bonus and spend it on a newer, bigger TV for his room. I suppose so he more comfortably spend all his time lying on his bed and watching crap. Well, I've got a history of spending my bonuses on him, so I guess he can't be blamed if he has come to expect it

I understand that he doesn't feel physically or emotionally well. I cut him some slack for that. But judging from a productivity standpoint, he seems to be getting worse instead of better. He does less and less, moans and groans more and more, and simply refuses to see that he is never going to feel better unless he starts to take care of his health. or that the less he does, the less he will be capable of doing.
Anyway. Holiday stuff: On the 24th, we packed the car with assorted homemade goodies, a chicken-noodle casserole from Festival, ourselves, and the dog, and drove down to my folks. We stopped in Rockford at the Mrs. Fisher's factory store, where I bought a 4-lb tub of regulars, and a 1-lb bag of darks (my faves!) and again at the shop, to let Daddy know we'd arrived and he should close up and come home. We surprised the heck out of my mom, because Dad had requested we not tell her we were coming. He didn't want her to get all worked up--she would try to do too much and end up hurting herself. So she was a trifle miffed (she doesn't really like to be surprised). But on the whole, she seemed genuinely glad we came. And she was absolutely tickled that B came along. He was such a very good pooch! I think both my mom and my dad were really glad to have my big, wooly derp there for smiles and cuddles. He is such a charmer! Very hard to resist B when he turns it up to "high".

The chicken casserole was Spouse's touch of genius--instead of struggling with taking mom out in the cold and ice, finding a place to eat, etc.--why not just take a one-dish meal in a disposable pan, and we could stick it in the oven and have a good lunch with practically no effort?

Festival's chicken casserole is fantastic, by the way. Homemade-style noodles, tons of chicken, loads of peas and carrots, and just the right amount of "glop". Not too salty, either! They were both very pleased, and my dad demolished it with great relish. Even my mom, who can't eat a lot anymore, managed a creditable amount. We took some nice dinner rolls, too, and even supplied the coffee for the Keurig! No fuss, very little muss, and we were able to enjoy our time without the aggravation of dealing with what to do about dinner. My hubby CAN be quite thoughtful and considerate at times!

I spent most of the visit doing what I usually do--trying on clothes that my mom wanted to get rid of. I have previously made an arrangement with my dad to haul everything out of there she throws at me, whether I want it or not, in order to just get it out of the house. Then I keep what I want and give away or donate the rest. This trip it was chiefly outerwear--a huge stack of fleeces, hoodies, jackets, and no less than three winter coats. One is her well-beloved convertible--pale green and cream, with the same 3-in-1 arrangement as my brown coat. The lining is a fleece jacket, the shell is a raincoat, and when you zip them together, you have a winter jacket. It doesn't really fit, and although it is definitely used, its still in quite good shape. I am thinking I will donate that one. But the other two fit me! A scrumptious, magenta and black ZeroExposur down jacket and a more dressy red car-length with black velvet trim. And I would swear that neither has been worn more than a half-dozen times. I'm talking brand-effing-new. I am seriously in love with them both--but especially the down jacket. It is mutha-trucking cold this winter, and I am delighted to get a coat that warm. And since they are both trimmed in black, my new gloves and scarf go perfectly!

Seriously--if I had sat under a tree and unwrapped a box, I could not have gotten a better gift. And they were both delighted, because those were such nice coats and they wanted somebody to be able to make use of them. Win-Win!

I also got a supply of linens--she gave me a shopping bag full of potholders and oven mitts, cloth coasters and trivets, and dish towels. I went through them yesterday, got rid of the worn ones, and kept the ones that were in good shape or were brand new. I ended up with two brand new sets, and a big stack of very nice used ones. So I threw away the shabby ones in the kitchen, and put out all new.

She also gave me a bag of Christmas-themed tablecloths, placemats, and napkins--it seems I am completely unable to get through a single Christmas without somebody pushing that kind of stuff on me. Oh, well.

And assorted shoes, dog bowls, books, etc. that are going to be dropped at Goodwill sometime in the next few days. And pictures--some of my baby pics, my wedding album. She is apparently giving all the kids their own pics. She asked what to do with Sammy's, so I told her to split them up among the grandkids. They would all be glad to get photos of their late uncle.

Even the B scored big. For somebody who had no idea we were coming, she managed to pull out the perfect Christmas present for him. A brand-new, giant-sized Hedgie. In a SANTA HAT. (Since Santa also brought him a new hedgie yesterday, the MHA--Mighty Hedgehog Army--has expanded nicely!) Of course, she didn't stop at one. He also got a teddy bear, a bunny, a new tennis ball, and a rubber squeakie-toy. Spoiled.

We had a nice time, I think the 'rents enjoyed themselves, and we left about three-thirty, and got home before six. We didn't want to have to drive too far in the dark.

And when we got home, our gift from Auntie was waiting on the porch. We recieved two bottles of infused olive oil from the the olive ranch we love. Another bottle of bacon, by request, and one infused with blood orange. The also sent B a bag of "doggie biscotti" from there, and Spouse was happy to receive a bag of chocolate-pecan toffees made in Tucson.

I was telling Auntie about one of the jackets Mom gave me that was too small, but I took it anyway. I told her it looked like her style, so she was immediately intrigued. I think it will be too big for her, but I told her I would send it to her and if it didn't fit, she could donate it. It is brushed nylon, quilted, a beautiful shade of amethyst, mandarin-style, and in a perfect weight for AZ. I really hope she can use it. I couldn't tell her what size it was, because my mom cuts the size tags out of everything. We all go along with her and pretend it is because "they make her neck itch".

Reading: Louisa May Alcotts's "An Old Fashioned Girl" (1870).

Listening: Christmas episodes of QI


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com