rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















birthday �surprise�
October 10, 2013

I forced him to come clean about the fact that he lost his job. I think I got bored with the increasingly elaborate lies and obfuscations. Frankly, I came to terms with the fact that this is who he is YEARS ago. It is what it is, and if I keep putting up with it I don�t feel as though I have any right to bitch about it. But it was my gift to myself to shut down the bullshit. I think he is getting another job; he told me he had an interview the other day, and they called him for a urine test. Who knows what to believe, though.

The fact remains that we need at least SOME income from him. I can�t keep us entirely afloat by myself. The house needs work and the car needs tires and his medical bills are fairly impressive this year. He needs to bring in something, just to keep us at par. Sliding slowly backwards into poverty is not a pleasant prospect.


So, aside from that, I also bought myself a few things for my birthday when I went to ShopKo to get his gift. Since I am paying for my own birthday gifts, I figure I should at least get something I want. A new handbag for fall�not too expensive, but exactly what I wanted. A sleek tote, good-quality faux leather, in a deep pumpkin. Also some socks and undies and a new sweater.

Since the big reveal, it is easy to see why he wanted to go to Maggiano�s for the birthday lunch. No cash. Might as well use the gift card we got from Niece for Christmas. It was nice. Good food, and OMG what a lot of it. For the amount of the gift cert, we got lemonades, two baskets of bread with olive oil for dipping, a big bruschetta appetizer, two huge pasta entrees (I had eggplant parm with spaghetti, he had spag & meatball), a big dessert to share, and TWO EXTRA ENTREES TO TAKE HOME. Crazy! They actually have a package meal where you get all that (except for the drinks) for $39.95! We brought home those take home meals and I sealed them up and froze them. They will come in handy sometime soon! He elected more spag & meatballs for his take home, but I got Fettuccine Alfredo, for the hell of it. Everything was quite delicious, and my outlay was only $15 for the tip. Not too shabby.

We were at the Skokie location, so after we ate, we drove up to Northbrook so I could hit Trader Joe�s and The Container Store. I love TJs, and I had a couple of specific things I was looking for (and found!) at TCS. I got a desk organizer that matched my other desk pieces, and I found the perfect two-level lazy Susan for the spice cupboard. My cupboards are hard to fit, and I have been trying to find the right one for years. But this one fits, and it is a well-made steel one that spins beautifully and allows good access. LOVE it, even if I did have to lay out twenty-five bucks for it.
So the big 50 birthday wasn�t horrible. The rest of the week has been kind of shitty, though. If I had half a brain, I would have made him maintain his fiction and stay out of the house all day until the END of my vacation! He just lies around like a lump and obstructs my functioning, so I don�t get half the useful shit done that I would like to. The weather is nice, I do have to say that. We got some yard work done, and yesterday we gave the B a treat. We gave him a car ride, and I took him for a long walk along the lakefront. He had a blast, because he got to charm a good share of old ladies and small children. He is terribly social, and people are his favorite thing. Definitely the most extroverted member of the family!
I think I will wrap up this entry; I am washing bedding and I have to go beat the man-grease out of his bedsheets now. I really know how to vacation, don�t I?





Reading: "Emily Climbs" (1925), by Lucy Maud Montgomery. I haven�t been reading much this week. I have fiction fatigue at the moment, I think. But I�m picking my way through it slowly.

Listening: The Airborne Toxic Event, The Killers, Vampire Weekend, MGMT, Paloma Faith, Duffy, Melanie Fiona. The Pixies, The Black Keys, Smashing Pumpkins.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com