rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















can't shake it
October 14, 2013, 2013

Random disquieting thought for the day�
In 51 weeks, I will be 51.

I am a glum old thing. I was hoping that a week off would regenerate me, but I just can't seem to shake off this case of the blahs/blues/blecchhs I have plaguing me. Back to work today, feeling as rudderless and unmotivated as ever.


Well, apparently Spouse got that job. (I should start a pool on how long this one is going to last.) He'll be working for a metal fabriction company. He was supposed to start today, but they sent him home after orientation because he didn't have any steel-toes. Reasonable pay for our area, 2nd shift, 4-10s a week and Fridays off. Yeah, goody. Fridays off. At least I will have my Mon-Fri evenings to myself.

He called me at work today, ostensibly to let me know what was up, but really just to get snotty with me. He called to ask "permission" to spend the money for steel toes. I may have gotten his dander up a bit the other day when I mildly pointed out that I am the one who works and earns around here. Boo Hoo. I don't know why people think they not only get to get away with being like that, but that they have some divine protection from having BS called on them as well. Dude. I may have to put up with your shit, but I DON'T have to pretend it smells of roses.
Got a gift from Auntie in the mail the other day; a $50 gift cert to Applebees and a jar of candied jalape�o peppers. I guess she forgot about my allergy. Well, I forgive her. She has a lot on her mind, and on her plate, right now. Dr. Cousin & her husband have separated, and Auntie has her daughter, her grandson, 5 dogs, and two cats under her roof at the moment.

Sigh. Makes me sad. For one thing, I am terribly fond of her husband. And for another, I have to wonder how successful any marriage can be when there mother-in-law problems like they face. I love my aunt, but she can be so hateful when it comes to the Architect, and his mom has always treated Dr. Cousin more like her son's servant than his wife.

Two precious flower, only-children like they are probably shouldn't marry; the tigermamas will never stop fighting it.

That is off the record, and came from my mom. Haven't heard anything official from Auntie or the cuzz yet. I didn't know all that when I sat down to write a 3-page thank you letter to her the other day. And that is probably a good thing. As soon as the package was opened, I was at the keyboard pounding out my acknowledgement. It doesn't pay to procrastinate with Auntie. I just wrote her one of the breezy and conversational letters such as I used to send Uncle, so I hope she enjoys it.
Yeah, I did have a talk with Mom last evening; we were being lazy and didn't call her yesterday morning, so she nailed me about 6:30. Yammered on for about an hour or so--I think she needed her sympathy fix, but I didn't really have one for her. She was being a little to NPD for me. Like her niece's marriage problems were engineered specifically to cause HER stress and unhappiness. Um, yeah Mom. Whatever. I am sure my dad got an earful of how horrible I was once she hung up the phone.
Making a couple of changes at home--I switched to Prevacid for my GERD, since for some reason the store brand of it is cheaper than store brand Prilosec. I just changed over today, so I can't say for sure, but it seems to work just fine.

And we're switching the B from IAMS Sensitive Naturals to Hill's. Got to talking with a Hill's rep at the pet store and she enlightened me regarding their other line, called "Ideal Balance". I was really disappointed last year when we were trying to get him well, because there didn't seem to be a Science Diet food that met his non-allergenic requirements. I didn't know they had another line of foods that was more what we were looking for. So we got a small bag and let him sample it--he LOVES it straight out of the bag. That was never the case with the IAMS. We've had to doctor the hell out of it to get him to eat it.

The nutritional specs on the Hill's also seem to be way higher in the veggies and Omega 3 he has to have. The new stuff is a little more expensive, but if we can cut back on the amount of vegetables and Omega-3 capsules, and do away with the supplemental gravy, it will probably be the same cost (or less) in the long run. We will have to watch closely for a while, though--to make sure it works for him. This stuff is chicken-based, instead of salmon. We want to make sure he doesn't have any skin or coat issues. He's done so well that I would hate for him to lose ground.
Trying to work on my positive thinking today, so here are some things that are good about life lately:

I don't think I mentioned that I went out to brunch on Sunday, the 6th. The besties took me out for my birthday. We went to the local Irish pub for a full Irish breakfast and a pint of Magner�s, then went back to their house and hung out for a while. It was really nice; had a great time and the brekkers was the bomb.

Here's something amazing: Trader Joe's Organic Gingermints! Hokey-Smokes are they ever the yummmmm. The best way to describe them is to say that they are like Altoids, except they are ginger instead of peppermint. Oh, and they don't contain gelatin. Which makes them vegan-friendly, I guess? Anyway. They are FANTASTIC.

Here's something! I am one week away from getting my "comma"--Next Monday I will be 1,000 days into my quit. That's certainly a positive. I cannot believe how fast the time has gone.

And I am enjoying our new TV system. Aside from the fact that he goes in the bedroom to watch all the crap I can't stand--I can record and watch tons of stuff off of TCM, I finally have stations that I actually like (still really missing channel 9 though), the whole thing work so damned much better than TW that I want to weep, and I am finally getting a signal quality that matches the television's picture quality. So yay on THAT.

Cosmic Birthday present: When B and I were taking our walk through the park the other day, I found a pair of sunglasses under a bench. They looked pretty nice (nearly new), so I looked around for the owner, but when I couldn't find anybody that claimed them, I took them home and disinfected them to use myself. They are Eagle Eyes �Fitovers�, so I can slip them over my Rx glasses, and a pair of them goes for about $40.00, so heckyeah! Free sunglasses!





Reading: "Emily Climbs" (1925), by Lucy Maud Montgomery. Getting back into it.

Listening: Lots of Steve Goodman

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com