rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















forced vacation
August 15, 2013

I guess I spoke too soon when I talked about not straining myself last weekend, and the swimming was evidently a bit too much. I woke up Sunday with my hip out of joint and what ended up being a severely strained back. After a visit to chiro on Monday and the regular doc on Tuesday, I ended up with a week off work, resting on the heating pad with a hat-trick of drugs to take--presdnisone for inflammation, vicodin for pain, and SOMA for muscle spasms.

That whole "Life is Good" thing was apparently more of a cosmic joke.

SO. I haven't really been up to sitting at a keyboard--I am still not, but I am in the easy chair with the laptop on a board in front of me and the heating pad on low behind me, so I am giving it a shot.

I had my follow-up visit-slash-omigodmyback! visit to my regular doctor on Tuesday. I told him I really didn't believe that the Zoloft is doing much for me, but he thought otherwise, and decided to keep me on it at the low dose. He wasn't much pleased with my back situation, but he liked the fact that I was following his orders with the therapy, the exercise, and taking my vitamins and minerals. The fact that I'd lost six pounds seemed to please him as well.

I did find and download some MP3s for guided imagery & self-hynosis relaxation. I tried them once, and they probably worked fine, but I must admit that SOMA and Vicodin work pretty well too.


Spouse still seems to be improving. He has been taking very good care of me this week, handling much of the cooking and helping me move around.
I felt really guilty about having to be off work this week, since it is a crucial point in the cycle. But there was no way I could manage to go to work and sit in a chair for 9 hours, knocking myself out with validations. And with the more or less constant pain, I really knew it at heart. So I only felt guilty sporadically.

I don't really have much else to write about--I haven't been able to go anywhere or do anything this week, so there isn't anything to say. And this position is starting to really strain me, so I think I'll just let it go and get into a comfortable position.

Reading: "The Madness of May" (1917), by Meredith Nicholson. I think it is a romance, that seems to be aiming for a whimsical Robin Hood motif. Link

Listening: Cage the Elephant, The Offspring, The Black Keys, Sleater-Kinney, Cowboy Junkies.



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com