rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















reporting in
August 10, 2013, 8:01 P.M.

Went back to the therapist yesterday, and he seemed to think I was making progress with the stress management. I have another appointment in two weeks. On the way home from his office, I was staring at the Jeep in front of me, and the spare tire cover said "life is good". And listening to Bob Marley telling me "Don't worry about a thing, 'cause every little thing gonna be all right!"

I don't really believe in cosmic messages, but I would like to believe that one.

He suggested I try a recorded relaxation aid. I told him about using my QuitSmart smoking cessation recordings to relax, and he thought that was a good idea, but that I should maybe give guided imagery a try, or perhaps a self-hynosis one that was specifically for relaxation. So I am going to take a look on Amazon and see what's available cheap. I have my follow-up visit to my regular doctor on Tuesday, so it will be interesting to see what he thinks. I still don't believe that the Zoloft is doing much for me besides messing with my digestive system, but we will see what he says.


Talked to my mom a couple times this week, and she is doing poorly, it sounds like. Another fall, low blood count, septic toe...just kind of a mess, I'm afraid. I know I need to deal with it but it is so hard that it just shuts me down.
Spouse is doing better and better, I think. We went shopping this morning and he was really enthusiastic and engaged, planning meals, looking for new things to try, and talkative with people. He is down to 3mg Coumadin and feeling better for it. Plus he has started wearing compression socks and that really seems to help with the leg pain and discomfort. He is also helping around the house again, which is a huge load off of me. He can't do everything he wants to, but running the vacuum, cooking and doing the dishes still make a big difference on my energy bottom line.
Work was a grind this week; my particular "big week" in the project cycle and all the different people I report to were on vacation. And the usual 10 pounds of shit in a 5-pound sack-- enough work for 3 rounds crammed into one, and IT hamstringing the validations at every turn so that I've lost nearly a week and a half of valuable time. Oh, well. I can only do what I can do. I spent the week feeling like I was going 110 mph while sitting still.

Thank goodness nature decided to let me get some swimming in this week! I was able to hit the pool four days in a row, and I think that's a record stretch for this season.

We aren't straining ourselves too hard this weekend, just the basic stuff that needs to get done, and enjoying some relaxation time. Still in our recovery mode, I guess.

Reading: "Other People's Business - The Romantic Career of the Practical Miss Dale" (1916), by Harriet Lummis Smith" Link

Listening: The Fray, The Sisters of Mercy, OneRepublic, Nine Inch Nails, Siouxsie and the Banshees



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com