rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















returning to my normal, only semi-mangled self
August 19, 2013

I continued to take it kind of easy this weekend, and Spouse rose to the occasion magnificently, taking care of the laundry, housework, most of the yardwork, and the cooking nearly single-handedly. I helped with a few things, but it was about 90% him. He was a total brick, and I will sing his praises for it. Just the fact that I didn't have to negotiate the basement stairs was a huge benefit to my healing process.

The back/hip seems to be on the mend now; I tried to be mildly active Saterday and Sunday and I think it helped me--I only took my meds once yesterday, in the morning, but I was doing fairly well all day. Saturday I did some walking around when we went grocery shopping, and yesterday, Spouse and I worked as lightly as possible in the backyard, both of us wanting to get through the yard work that desperately needed to be done, but without hurting ourselves. I was able to move lightweight yard furniture, help with keeping the mower cord out of the way, and even do about half the trimming with the new electric trimmer--it weighs less than two pounds, so it is pretty easy on the back. We also went to Menards and did some shopping, and I was okay as long as I had a cart to hang onto.

I did have a bit of a rough night last night--too hot, too cold, no position that was comfortable, and after midnight, it was pretty much 15-minute dozes interspersed with wakefulness. It didn't make having to go back to work today a pleasant prospect, I can tell you that. But I made it through with the help of some Aspercreme roll-on liniment and making sure I didn't sit for too long. I had chiro after work, and that helped as well.

I seem to be dropping weight, slowly but steadily. I was 298 this morning, and if my scale is to be trusted, that means I have lost about 10 pounds in the past month. Since getting my thryoid levels back in line, I have lost that desperate craving for carbs, and that helps a lot. The Doc seems to think that the sertaline is helping me there, too, so another reason to stay on it, I guess.

The hot flashes have come back again, though--I had one Saturday that was simply ferocious, and a less severe one yesterday afternoon. Those things can really take it out of you--the heat is the least of it, for me. I could handle that, if it came without the heart palpitations and the dizziness. I don't know--maybe they burn calories?

Enough about my medical troubles! Updates on other people's medical troubles: Spouse's clot and other issues--last blood test results required that he get another Rx for the coumadin; 1mg to take along with the 3mg. Otherwise he seems to be much improved all around. His spirits are better, he is really watching his diet so he is not having as many gastro-intestinal problems. I don'tknow if he is still losing weight, but it can't hurt his general health to be eating better. HIS depression seems to be getting a lot of help from the sertraline, and he is much more energetic and upbeat than he has been for a while. I am so glad to have my baby back!

My mom called me Saturday to fill me in on the latest of her health woes. I swear, that woman only has to hear of somebody else's problem to develop the same condition herself--now SHE has a blood clot! And, not to be outdone by Spouse--hers? Already IN her lung.

She was greatly reassured by my telling her that a lot of the awfulness she is feeling is directly attributable to the lovenox injections; the headaches, the shakiness, the mental confusion are all side effects. She was dismayed to hear of my back troubles, but was glad to hear that I was taking them seriously and dealing with it.

And my poor SIL is one of the "lucky" 5% of people who have their retinal tear repaired, but "over-heal" and end up with a new retinal tear. Next surgery is 8/30, and she's a depressed wreck about it.



I'm kind of sick of talking about health matters. But I don't know what else to talk about--it seems like that is all there is in my life anymore. Work? Less said, the better, because I am trying to eliminate stress here, not bring on more, LOL. Actually, I took part in one of the free 15-minute relaxation breaks they periodically offer at the office. We stretched out on yoga mats in one of the fitness center studios, lights off, and did relaxation breathing exercises to soothing music, led by one of the fitness instructors. Kind of cool, although it bothered my back a little. I don't know how relaxing it was, but all that oxygen was bound to be good for me. And it broke up the tedium of my afternoon.

Really, the most fun thing I have been doing lately is playing word games on the laptop & memory games on the phone. I have achieved levels in the mid-eighties on Text Twist 2, gotten as high as level 24 in Flipwords, and have played endless rounds of Husker-Du-like memory flips without keeping much track of stats. That kind of stuff was a good occupier while loopy- stupid on my meds. I didn't read much, because I couldn't keep my thoughts straight enough, but word games worked just fine, oddly enough.

Reading: "The Jovial Ghosts" (1926) by Thorne Smith. a/k/a "Topper". From what I remember of the movie, Cosmo was desirous of peace and seemed quite plagued by George and Marion, but in the book he is teetering on the brink of an existential crisis and seems to be lots more willing to fall into bad ways with them. I'm not really finding it a particularly enjoyable read. The author was pretty famous for living the same lifestyle he gave his ghosts, and I think the bathtub gin splashed over onto his writing style. At this point, I think the movie version is probably the better bet.

Listening: In a soul mood today, but leaning toward the blue-eyed variety: The Commitments, Ben Harper, Dusty Springfield, Sam & Dave, Van Morrison.



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com