rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















seeing someone
August 03, 2013

Well, the �prescription� from my first therapist session contained no surprises�the same thing you hear from every direction: keep a journal, exercise more, and work on adding more social interaction and recreation to your life.

Yeah, well how about if I just get to work on developing a 27-hour day? Because none of the other stuff is going to happen until I manage to pull that off.

BUT. Here I am working on the first one. The therapist was a bit taken aback to learn that I have actually been keeping a journal for decades, and that I have only stopped due to those same time constraints that have pushed every other meaningful, personal thing out of my life.


And last night I did get out for some recreation (Although if we hadn�t spent $180 on the tickets back in May, I doubt that either Spouse or I would have bothered.) We took the train to Ravinia, had a picnic of fried chicken and cold salads in the park, and then enjoyed our pavilion seats for our fifth Steely Dan concert together. Great show, and the pavilion is so small and well-designed that there isn�t a bad seat in the place.

We did the lawn seating when we �saw� them there in 2011, and after he realized that he never got to actually see them, Spouse was determined that he would not do that again. So we blew an extra c-note on actual seating, over the admission price. Worth every penny. When the big acts come to Ravinia, they just draw too much of a crowd. And the people who get there when the gates open and lay out huge areas for themselves don�t really help; if you have a 20�x20� or bigger area, that is most certainly bumping somebody else out of finding a spot at all.

But the show was fantastic, as Steely Dan shows always are, and we had a pretty good time. It was a little wearing on the two of us, given our current states of decrepitude, but all in all, we got more out of it than it took out of us.
In health news, Mom is doing poorly and is going in for a 2-pint blood transfusion on Monday. Dad has turned a corner with the MRSA in his leg and seems to be doing pretty well. P is back on his feet after his latest bout of cellulitis. Spouse is doing better with the blood thinner, now that he is at a pretty steady 5mg of warfarin a day, he�s back to work, on days, with light duty (inventory management in the parts crib). The depression is still giving him a lot of trouble, but he seems to me to have improved a little bit. He is still acting weird though. Secretive, which upsets me a lot.

And I am starting to feel more myself already, but I don�t know if it is the increase in the thyroid meds or the addition of the Zoloft that is perking me up. Oh, and I started taking a vitamin and mineral supplement again, which I am hoping will give my poor blood a boost. It is wreaking havoc with digestion, due to the iron, but the fact is I need it.

The menopause thing continues to make life interesting, as well. I haven�t had the hot flash/racing heartbeat thing for a couple of weeks, thank goodness. But I still seem to be in a phase of overly frequent periods. I got nailed again, last night at the concert. That is probably more �Sod's Law� than anything else�my personal history is that I will get my period ANY time I have a major social function.

And while it is true that I am starting to feel better, that is still a long way from feeling good. I�m not even sure I know what �good� feels like, anyway. Too many ups and downs over the years.

Reading: Re-reading a few Patty Fairfields

Listening: Steely Dan, of course!

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com