rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















rice cooker
August 04, 2013

I was flipping through some old diary entries from over the years, and looking back, I can see the patterns of depression and the rise and fall of my thyroid levels. From this vantage point, it jumps right out at you. Too bad it took so many years to figure it out. But clearly, the only time I was coherent, energetic, organized, and on the ball enough to schedule a physical was when I was hypERthyroid. No wonder they never found anything.


So. My life. This weekend was mercifully quiet; We slept in yesterday after getting home late from the concert, and Spouse was in bed until 11. I got up a bit earlier than that, because of the dog, but I have to admit I wasn�t very productive. I did a little laundry and housework, wrote my diary entry, surfed, and just took it friggin easy. When we finally got rolling, we just ran some errands and came home.

Spouse had decided he wanted to do a Salisbury steak recipe he�d found, so we had that for dinner, and boy! It was fantastic! With mashed potatoes and corn-on-the-cob cooked in the husks (two ears, 5 minutes in the microwave, cut off the big end and shake the ear out of the husk, and it is perfectly steamed and silk-free.)

He must have been in a cooking mood, because he also decided to make his specialty �chop-suey� recipe. We had some country pork ribs and some stew meat in the freezer that we needed to use up, and he figured a big batch would do for Monday leftovers as well.

But when he lays awake all night with insomnia, his mind gets to working up things he thinks he �needs�, and this weekend, it was a new rice cooker. Not that we needed one; the Black&Decker Handy-Steamer that I�ve used for the last 20 years still makes great rice. But he had made up his mind, so after some quick research online, we ran out this morning to look at a new one. Our brand new Bed, Bath & Beyond was a disappointment, as they only had a couple, and they were both overpriced and poorly rated models. We did better at Target. They had several nice models in a range of prices. We found a model Spouse thought would serve for $29.99: the Aroma ARC 926-D.

That was pretty much the big excitement of the day. We worked together to get the minimum required housework done, I finished the laundry, we all took naps, and we made dinner together. The new rice cooker worked beautifully, too.

Now I am going to get my stuff together for work tomorrow, play some Flipwords, watch an episode or two of QI, and relax. Spouse is going to read, and then listen to the self-hypnosis for relaxation and sleep download I bought off Amazon and loaded on his MP3 player, in the hopes that he�ll actually SLEEP. The end of a quiet, peaceful, relaxed weekend. If only it was warm enough to swim, it would have been perfect!

Reading: �Aunt Jane� (1915), by Jennette Lee. Not sure where it�s going yet, but as far as I can tell, it is about a really awesome nurse.

Listening: no music today

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com