rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















it's probably just exhaustion
May 06, 2013, 7:37 P.M.

The weekend kind of wore me out. No time to relax, recharge, and rejuvenate. First of all, I got almost no alone time, since Spouse was stuck to me like a barnacle from about 6:45p.m. Friday onward. That actually screws me up the worst. You can work me harder than a rented mule, but if I can do it in solitude, I can handle it. But ask me to do it with Spouse and two contractors in the house, and you might as well just shoot me and get it over with. Especially when one of the contractors is Spouse's younger brother, because they do the brother thing with each other (bicker, banter and brawl) And there is ZERO PEACE AND QUIET. And I can't even try to separate myself from it--Spouse ends up being a buttinsky, teasing and micromanaging and being a general a-hole. Then I have to get involved, so P can get his stuff done without his big brother slowing him down.

And also, we had a confluence of various types of chores, errands, and tasks that had to be done. The "regular, gotta do it every week " work (LAUNDRY), "you're remodeling your bathroom!" work, and then it seemed like there was a boatload of stuff that happens on various annual, semiannual, quarterly, seasonal, etc. schedules that all fell due on the same weekend. Emissions testing and plate renewal, heartworm, dog grooming, spring yardwork, rug washing and floor scrubbing, duty calls to relatives, ordering Mother's Day flowers, ditto...SO. Tired.

Oh, and then you can figure in the treadmill and strength work, walking the dog, a fair amount of cooking and dishwashing, the regular shopping, the half-dozen trips to the hardware store, calling and calling to try to get hold of the pool guy to re-line our pool...it just never seemed to end!


But progress is made--the bath took great leaps forward this weekend, with nearly all of the construction stuff done. The guys worked their tails off pretty much all weekend, and got the plastering done, wall planking put up, the vinyl flooring laid (which required un-installing and re-installing the toilet), showerhead switched out (couldn't live with the original one that came in the set, so we bought a 5-setting Water-Pik with some by-gosh PRESSURE to it!) heat register, sink/faucet/vanity, outlet cover, and shower door all installed, and the storage cabinet assembled and hung. A HUGE amount of work.

Remaining (for P and his buddy): Seaming the floor, because it took two pieces. Installing the new window. Finish-sanding the plasterwork. patching a small ceiling hole. For us: Cleaning, priming and painting the ceiling, upper walls, and trimwork. Hanging the new light fixture, towel rack, and toilet paper cover. Refurbishing the medicine cabinet and mirror. Still need to pick out a new wastebasket, toothbrush holder, and other knick-knacks.

I figure to be completely, 100% done by the end of the Memorial Day weekend. And meanwhile, I have a working bathroom. Toilet, sink and shower are all completed and usable. Squee!!!!
I wish I could say my mom was doing as well. Sounds like she is getting worse. She fainted and had a bad fall this week, landing on a raised brick fireplace hearth, of all things--probably the very hardest, roughest surface in her entire house. Well. She said she fainted, but since she is a hoarder, I worry that she is tripping over all that shit in her way, or over the 50 gazillion useless throw rugs she has everywhere. She ended up in emergency, tore her arm all up, bruised and bloody, with a gash that the doctors couldn't stitch because she has no flesh on her bones anymore. It's getting bad.

I was really hoping to see her next weekend, but one of my nephews is graduating from college so she has her sights set on going to that, if she is well enough. Spouse and I have to get down there soon, though, because she need us for tech support. She went out and bought a damned Kindle Fire. Here's the thing--neither she or my dad have any idea what they bought. They figured it was a really nice e-reader. No clue that they even bought a computer. That requires something called "wi-fi". And runs things called "apps".

Sigh.

They don't have a clue about wireless, either. My dad thinks it is something you get for free from the phone company, if you bundle your services. And they didn't know that wireless and wi-fi are the same thing.

Hell, they don't even know how AMAZON works. My dad thought that if Mom bought e-books, they would show up on his internet bill.

So I said I would get her a router for Mother's Day and we would come down and install it and get her set up. Now I have to find the most fool-proof, trouble-free, self-healing wireless router made...that is sold by Kmart or Walmart, because my dad doesn't want to have to deal with any potential problems at a store where he doesn't already go.

This is, I know, a "bucket-list" thing for my mom, so I understand and support her decision to get one, but oh, my ever-lovn' Aunt Fanny...this is gonna be so hard. Especially since I don't like tablets, or Amazon's digital media policies.

Reading: "A Cathedral Courtship" and "Penelope�s English Experiences," (both 1893), by Kate Douglas Wiggin

Listening: Train, Keane, The Script, Coldplay, Paloma Faith, Dexy's Midnight Runners, The Clash, The Boomtown Rats, Sleater-Kinney.



At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com