rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















monday post, part one: negative
August 27, 2010

Can somebody tell me how many years it is gonna take before clinical labs catch up with the TSH guidelines that changed in 2003?! I got my test results back from Aurora's lab, and they are STILL using the outdated .5 to 5.0 range. And given that my numbers are 4.43, this is the same old battle--according to them, I am in the "normal" range. Even though, according to standards established nearly a decade ago, by actual endocrinologists, my TSH is outside of the acceptable .3 to 3.0 range, and therefore high.

Now granted, TSH is a generally lousy indicator of actual thyroid levels. But that's when it comes back low, or normal. If TSH is high, then it's pretty much a lead pipe cinch that thyroid levels are low. Possibly REALLY low. Especially when accompanied by other symptoms, such as fatigue, deterioration in condition of hair, skin, and nails, easy bruising, feeling cold all the time, visual disturbances, sweet cravings, mood deterioration, hypersensitivities to light and noise...
Well, you get the idea. NOT happy, and in the process of trying to figure out how I'm going to go about letting the doctor know that.

Anyway--labs don't always tell you when you have problems. If you looked at my numbers overall, compared with the lab's defined acceptable ranges, I look quite remarkably healthy for someone of my age and size. And even the super-picky HRA for work could only point to my weight and stress levels as areas of concern. Also, they calculated my "health age" to be 48 (Meaning, I guess, that I am no closer to death than your average 48-year-old). Which is fine with me. Since I will turn 49 in about 6 weeks, and all.

Speaking of all that, I have nearly finished with their B.S.--got my $400 max premium rebate, and that is the end of my forced participation, so I am washing my hands of it. Well, once I call them and head off the "Health Advising" they want to lay on me. I know what they want to tell me--I'm depressed. And I will not deny that I've feeling the depression creeping in lately. But I have learned that this is DIRECTLY related to the thyroid levels for me, and I don't want them babbling in my ear about counseling and CBT and managing stress, when the truth is they do not REALLY know thing one about me or my medical condition.

This is a very sore spot for me, because the mis-diagnosing and MISSED diagnosing has caused me decades of suffering. I'm still not sure it didn't cost Sammy his life. I have to be very careful not to think too much about how many lives get ruined by doctors who want to call you depressed because it's easy, when the same symptoms are also a big blinking red light pointing to other biochemical deficiencies. It just wipes me out if I think about it too much--I get so angry!


So I knocked through that company-inflicted crap and GIANT intrusion into my personal life with a month to spare before the deadline, but never think you are done getting big brothered around there. Now it's time for the high-pressure campaign to control every employee's charitable giving. I jumped right onto the website first thing to opt out of the program & get it over with, only to be faced with the following three choices I could click: credit card, payroll deduction, and, quote, "I'm Sorry, but I do not wish to give at this time." Excuse me? SORRY? What in the HELL gives them the right to presume that I am "Sorry"? I am effing well PLEASED to be opting out of contributing to you, United Way. I have some very real, very personal reasons for never, ever, ever sending one thin dime to the UW. I am anything but sorry, and the fact that your website put those words in my mouth is yet ANOTHER reason that you will never receive any support from me.

Corportate bullying and harrassment, still more intrusion into my private life, and the fact that they make the employees give but take credit on the corporate level doesn't make me love my employers more, either.

Between the religious and political agendas of campaigning politicians, the agressive social agenda of the government, my employers (see above), my family and my spouse--there is no longer any part of my life--not the teeniest, tiniest bit--that I have a right to call my own. Unless it's hitting the "opt-out button", like my little brother did.


Reading: "Tabitha's Vacation" (1913, #3 in the Ivy Hall series), by Ruth Alberta Brown.

Also, "Set in Silver" (1909), by . Author: C. N. Williamson and A.M. Williamson.

Listening: Not feeling like music today. The radio started with The Police and went on to Fleetwood Mac and it just totally turned me off.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com