rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















monday post, part two: on the bright side
August 27, 2012

Just so nobody thinks that I am totally mired in the negative:

Had a day out with Mom & Dad on Sunday; Mom called on Saturday morning and she was chomping at the bit to get out and do stuff. Her cabin fever had made her think she wanted to go to Lake Geneva on Sunday. She's been out of Wisconsin a long time--I guess she forgot that you do NOT go to Lake Geneva on a Sunday in summer. Weekends are strictly for the Illinois crowd. As we say--welcome to FIBulous Lake Geneva!

Long story short--talked her out of it; suggested a place out in rural Delavan instead, called Millie's Restaurant & Shopping Village--good, country-style food, a bunch of the kind of little chi-chi shops my mom loves, and a bit more on a scale that is do-able for the 'rents. No hills, no traffic or parking nightmares, and no getting run over by Illinois assholes in Escalades. And not too bad of a drive for us or for them.

It poured rain, but we still managed to have a reasonably good time. I bought mom a needlepoint pillow she wanted, we treated for lunch, and mom gave me three nearly brand new blouses that were probably worth more than the lunch and pillow combined. :) She has lost a bunch of weight from increased mobility and intensive physical therapy, so everything is too big for her.


Another happy note: I had almost forgotten about it until lunch with my folks, but as of Saturday, I am celebrating 19 months of the big quit, so I consider that Sunday was by way of my celebratory treat. Nothing says "I don't smoke anymore" like spending time with those two, and NOT jonesing for a square! ;)
We finally got hold of Auntie last evening, and she had some good news--her house is finally coming back together, after the great deluge, and she bought herself a new bed and is moving back into the master bedroom, after many years of having to basically just stay out of Uncle's way and sleep in another room. Spouse let her know I am planning to do the peach preserves over the holiday weekend, so she is excited to hear how that goes. And to receive some in the mail, too, I've no doubt!

Well, now I feel better. My Libran sense of balance has been stroked, and I won't have that gloomy post hanging here for a week or so.


Reading: "Tabitha's Vacation" (1913, #3 in the Ivy Hall series), by Ruth Alberta Brown.

Also, "Set in Silver" (1909), by . Author: C. N. Williamson and A.M. Williamson.

Listening: Not feeling like music today. The radio started with The Police and went on to Fleetwood Mac and it just totally turned me off.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com