rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















busy flippin' weekend
July 02, 2012

Saturday: up early & speedy coffee, because the B had an 8:00 am vet appointment. And oh, what a vet appointment--between the sore on his leg I took him in for, and the chronic ear infection, it ended up costing me $270.20--and I brought home enough meds to keep an army in good health. And the administration regimen ended up being so complex, I had to go into Excel and build a spreadsheet so we can keep track of what, how much, and when. Sheesh. He has 2 antibiotic pills every 8 hours, and 2 antihistamine pills every 12 hours, which all have to be rolled in cheese or liver sausage so he'll take them. He has bactericide/fungicide ear lotion once a day, and medicated earwash twice a week. Plus nasty-smelling muck to put on his bandage so he doesn't chew it off. And he's got TWO follow-up visits on the schedule, to make sure he gets healed up. Whew.

I could have gone back to bed once we got home...but no, had to heed the call of duty and get the errands run. First of which was washing the Taurus. Well, that didn't go well. Personally, I've had my cars suffer too much damage over the years to take them to a carwash with those great, floppy...whatever you call-ems. The ones that slap your car around. I only use touchless nowadays. But Spouse likes to take it to the Car Spa, because they hand dry it.

Well, now that he's had the rear-view mirror ripped off the passenger side, he isn't quite so thrilled with them! They pretty much just sniffed at him when he complained, too, which really pissed me off. At least the manager was "kind enough" to duct tape the damn thing back on the car...

After that, we stopped at the bank to replenish the cash that the vet's office had hoovered out of my wallet, then did our grocery & supply shopping at Sam's & Wally's before heading straight back home.

After we put away groceries and freezer-packed the meat, I got busy with the laundry and Spouse got busy online, researching the repair and replacement of outside mirrors for a 2002 Ford Taurus. Which turned out to look fairly simple and affordable (reserving judgement till he is all done); a pair of black replacement units was $75 and free shipping from 1A Auto, and the video tutorials looked pretty straightforward. Since our car is silver with black trim, the black pods should look fine. the ones on there now are silver and black--all black isn't a big deal. He's still pissed, but having studied on it and ordered the parts, he's in a better place.

We cooked out burgers on the grill Saturday night, with tossed salad and corn-on-the-cob. I have been rediscovering the joys of burgers, sans cheese lately. As much as I love cheeseburgers, really--EVERY burger doesn't need cheese. Pretty tasty without, actually!

As we were cleaning up the kitchen, my mom called and left me a voice mail, so I decided to put off a swim and call her first.

Yeah, I didn't get into the pool until almost nine. I DID get into the pool, though. :)

Things she had to gab about: funeral is officially OFF, although we may still get a visit from Cousin and her husband. Dad is being hateful and saying she was horrible in the hosptial. Talked her down on that one, because really, she did wonderfully while doped out of her mind on morhine.

Then, when I finally managed to get off the phone, I went out and took a somewhat briefer dip than I had orignally intended, which ensured that I slept like a sack of cement. Content cement.


Sunday, Spouse and I decided we wanted to make a lovely hot breakfast: Spam, sliced thin and crisped up golden-brown. Eggs, a perfect over/medium. Crispy hashbrown patties. Lovely toast from bakery bread, with a scrape of real butter and a dollop of my homemade triple-berry jam on it.

And real, decent-tasting, coffee, via the Eko-Brew cup I bought for my Keurig. (Still kind of a pain in the tushie, but it works a thousand times better than the one Keurig sells, and you don't have to partially disassemble your unit to use it!)

Yes. Eye-rolling, gutteral moaning, and general satisfaction ensued.

After collaborating on breakfast, we collaborated on cleaning up, and then I finished off the laundry while my food settled...so that I could indulge in another favorite summer Sunday morning delight: A long, cool and shady swim. I was out there for 45 minutes, alternately doing my water exercises and idly floating in a state of peaceful relaxation. Once I was good and pruny, I came in and jotted a note in a get-well card for my great-aunt & got that ready to mail. Then I showered, and got dressed in real clothes, because I could see Spouse was antsy and didn't want to stay home.
He had decided he was tired of having to schlepp his tools back and forth from work every time he needed to fix something (case in point: the rear-view mirror) and wanted to go to Sears and get a nice tool set for home. Knowing I didn't really want to go out (especially to Gurnee Mills), and also knowing that I DID intend to go shopping for a new watch this week, he dangled the carrot of the Fossil Store under my nose. I was fine with that, although it entailed an awfully long walk for someone who had already had her morning exercise.

So we took a drive down...and we were both most pleased that we did. In addition to finding just the tool kit he wanted at the Sears, I found my hard-to-find haircolor! (that Sears is an Outlet, so you get kind of a combination of Sears and Kmart, product-wise) And as for the Fossil Outlet...

Not one, but TWO watches. A beautiful brushed steel and gold Fossil, with a rectangular dial framed in a gold band, a gold, pinstriped face, roman numerals at the compass points, with ticks between, and a the date displayed in the three position. The band is brushed steel with two thin gold bands running round it. It is a fairly sizable watch, so it is easy to read. I got that one marked down to $60, with an additional 25%, for a $45 final price.

The second watch was off of the bargain table, a simple, round-faced Liz Claiborne that had been refurbished and was going for $15. Watch is goldtone, band is two-toned, gold-steel. ...And then, there is the bag...
While I was waiting for the clerk to add a couple of links to the band of my Fossil, I started poking around in the handbags. Yes, yes. I know it's dangerous. Especially when I find my new bag for fall and winter!

The Maddox II Satchel. A convertible handbag made of supple leather in a delicious Berry color. Exterior pockets on bag ends for sunglasses and personal technology. Dual handles with a removable, adjustable crossbody strap for versatility. Exterior details include traditional satchel strapping and signature logo-engraved hardware. Top zip closure. Interior lining with a back wall zip pocket and multifunctional slip pockets. Bottom Width: 13 1⁄2", Depth: 6", Height: 9 1⁄2". Handle Length: 7" and Accessory Strap Length: 20".

Or, as Spouse described it to Auntie: "She bought a purple purse."

Well, what was I supposed to do? A perfectly gorgeous leather bag, marked down from $198 to $130, and with an additional 40% off. That seventy-eight dollar bargain was going home with me, no debate.

So, end result: Two lovely watches and a fantastic new purse for under $150.00, after Illinois sales taxes. Even realizing, once I got home, that the Claiborne needs a repair to the band, has not dulled my satisfaction.
Since we were then into the full heat of the day, Spouse & I headed home, deciding on the way that we didn't feel like cooking dinner. We stopped at Cousins to pick up subs to go for later, and ran smack into a post-parade, post-church mob scene. I ended up waiting in that packed little sub shop for 30 minutes. By the time I got home, we were so thirsty that I whipped up a couple of my famous Quart Mason Jar Lemonade Shake-ups for some emergency rehydration while we watched Cook's Country.

Once we had perked back up, Spouse chatted on the phone to Auntie for a few minutes, then we got out the freezer and got the ice cream going while Spouse assembled his new tool kit. Seems it comes in a case that holds each piece individually, but it doesn't COME that way--you have to take all the tools out of their plastic bags and PUT them in place. If you have your ice cream base well chilled, it doesn't take long to make homemade ice cream with our little Hamilton Beach tabletop freezer. Once it was done, Spouse scraped it into a plastic tub and deposited it in the freezer to "ripen". I washed up the freezer and put it away, and then we all lay down and took naps.

I got up around 5, and we took care of pottying, pilling, ear-treating, and feeding the B, then we had our sandwiches for a quick and easy dinner, followed by the ice cream for dessert. Spouse took an Ambien & went to bed shortly thereafter, because he had day shift for Monday this week (he's off the 3rd and 4th). I did all my "night befores" puttered on the 'net till bedtime, then read myself to sleep.


Reading: Still working my way through "Lady Betty Across the Water" and (eventually) "Lord Loveland Discovers America" by the Williamsons. Lady Betty is a wonderful read, truly, but I am so busy and then so tired that I can't seem to get very far at a stretch!
Also in the pipeline: "What Will People Say?" (1914) by Rubert Hughes. Not sure what all is in store in this one; I know it involves a soldier visiting New York and apparently the heroine has an "easy moral code "...

Listening: Honestly. Between Van Halen touring, and Rush releasing a new album, I turn on the radio and it's like I'm back in high school again. When I was a kid, seeing that the Everly Brothers were touring or that Ricky Nelson had a new album out was like seeing dinosaurs roam the earth again. I can only imagine that today's kids feel the same way about Eddie and Geddie. But, then again, they have their "Rock of Ages", much like we had our "Grease"...

Surfing: Online shopping for a couple of surfboards to strap to Spouse's feet, since you CANNOT find flip-flops in 13EEEE.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com