rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















entertaining my kitchen geekiness
June 11, 2012, 8:31 P.M.

Had an unexpectedly fun time on Saturday morning; Spouse found a place by the Milwaukee airport that sells restaurant supplies, and it's open to the public. Squee! It's called Superior Equipment and Supply, and it was pretty awesome.

I found a number of small things I've been looking for, including silicone pinch bowls, 4-oz ramekins, offset spatulas, a lime press just like Rick Bayless's, and professional-style dry measuring cups & spoons in HEAVY steel. And I also found out that they are a source of durable, AFFORDABLE, induction-ready pots & pans. So I bought an awesome 3-qt. braising pan. And I got all that plus some other items for under a hundred bucks! Try that at Williams-Sonoma. I didn't go completely crazy, but only because I'm saving some reasons to go back!

After we went there, Spouse & I decided to get the oil changed on the Taurus and do our grocery shopping--both at Woodman's in Oak Creek--on the way home, and have lunch at Long John Silver's, since we don't get to do that very often. Sad news--although we were able to get the lunch we wanted, it was in the way of a farewell--that location is doing away with the LJS business after Father's Day and going to full-on Taco Bell. :( Bums me out, because I love Long John's, but they just aren't very popular around where we live. They never seem to last.)

So anyway, we ate, we oiled, we shopped, and then we headed for home. After we put away the groceries, I worked on the laundry & puttered around, and Spouse called Auntie, who informed him that the memorial for uncle will be July 27th. I was hoping for the weekend of the 14th, since I'll be there anyway--but no dice. Looks like I'll be spending way too much of my July in Iowa this year.

So that set off a nightmare web hunt for a hotel, which got me nowhere fast. Either a hotel didn't have all the necessary nights available, or it was one queen bed, or--no effing way--it was a smoking room, or the reviews said the place was a crack den.

I eventually gave up on Sunday morning, and Spouse took over. He picked the highest-rated hotel in Burlington, IA, called them on the phone, and explained the situation. And managed to get an executive suite, at a special reduced "bereavement" rate. That's why I call him "my travel agent", folks!

And I was not thrilled (not surprised, though, either) to hear from Auntie that this is gonna be a full-tilt boogie Catholic-fest. So no such thing as slacks for the funeral--gotta wear a dress. Well, I guess I will be dress-hunting this weekend. I want something summery and floaty-cottony, because HELLO...Iowa plus late July?

But if I can't manage to find anything, I will end up in one of the dresses I bought three years ago for D.'s daughter's sangeet & wedding. What the heck--they both look okay, they've only been worn once, and I tried them on yesterday and by some miracle, they both still fit. Neither one is boldly styled enough to be out of fashion, either. One is a tad-bit more evening-style, so I would probably not go with it. Even though it is by far the more attractive of the two. Unfortunately, the other is synthetic jersey, and a dark color, so...hotter than hell. I want to wear my Naturalizer sandals, too, and they won't go well with te dark dress, as they are tan.

Guess I'll figure something out. I think I'm stressing over the clothes, to keep from stressing over the hideous prospect of being trapped in a church...and at a time when I am emotionally wrecked, to boot. The thought nauseates me.


Anyhow. Sunday was a crap day. June 10th would have been Papa's 82nd birthday, so we got a flower arrangement and went out to the cemetery. I feel stupid doing that, but I loved Papa and I love his son, so you do it, right? On the way back to town, we stopped at Farm & Fleet to looks for some stuff to put on B's one hotspot that simply will NOT go away, and then we came home and had a peaceful quietude, made dinner (Spouse's chicken parm with his marinara, served with angel hair and salad. Strawberries on poundcake slices for dessert.)

I was looking forward to a peaceful evening, but Spouse went and called Auntie again, and landed me with more to do. Now I am reprising my dual role of graphic designer/jobbing printer, and making Uncle's funeral cards, as I did for the mother-in-law. And I wouldn't mind, but Auntie wants a blurb on them that reads like a passive-agressive note. All about wishing to thank two particular people for their kindness to Uncle. (in other words, "all the rest of you, thanks for nothing!"). Which I still wouldn't mind, if I wasn't one of them. Because you know she's going to tell everyone that I did the cards. How's that going to look?

In addition to all of this other loveliness, I have had to fight tooth and nail to get that flock of mental defectives and obstructionist a-holes at my health insurance administrators to pay the claims related to my knee injury. Or pay them correctly: in the rare cases where they didn't deny them, they paid them wrong. Because that's what they do. They take advantage of the average American's laziness and distraction and fundamental lack of understanding. They deny without a good reason, and gamble that we will just pay the doctor without forcing the issue. But shouldn't they at least realize who they are dealing with when it comes to this particular group? This is our frakking business, and we insured happen to know what gives. Grr. Spent hours trying to straighten it all out today. And the providers aren't nay better--I got the royal runaround just trying to request a letter of medical necessity for my brace. Which should even not be an issue when the billing comes in as part of the damned doctor visit. If the doctor fits you to a leg brace, it's because he thinks you need it! It isn't like I bought the damned thing at Walgreens!


Reading: "The Fortunes of the Farrells" (1907), by Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey. Also, "The Mansion of Mystery," (1911) by Chester K. Steele. No time to read; hence I am still on the same books as last week.

Listening: CDs in the Ford--this week it is Peter Gabriel, "So" and "The Book of Mormon". Also my Bob Welch playlist on my mp3, because his suicide saddens this old faithful fan.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com