rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















barely coherent ramblings
June 07, 2012

My personality can only tolerate so much chaos and uncertainty. Home, extended family, and work simultaneously exploded in my face, and things have been all over the place for a month now. I am so desperately craving structure and routine that it is starting to affect me physically. Sleep issues, digestion issues, body pain, and trouble concentrating are all starting to rear up and smite me. Could somebody please just shoot me?


Professional: I am dealing with a bittersweet scenario. Getting tasked with a big coding change in production, since, like so many other things around there, I am the only one who knows how. On the one hand, I love to do this stuff, so it's pure pleasure. On the other hand--I have so much work to do that falls under my current job description, that it's hard to squeeze in stuff that falls under my former job description.

And then, of course, we have to have one of those periodic weeks where terammates come in from out of state, and the whole team gets locked in an airless room for 8 hours a day, and you have to sacrifice your lunch hour to eat with them, and you are expected to give up your free time after work in order to go out with "the gang". Even though you wouldn't piss on said "gang" if they were on fire. I begged off that particular torture, pleading that I needed to get home to let the dog out (true). But there wasn't anything I could do about the rest of it but sit there and feel myself die inside.
Personal: Mom is still doing well, my cousin with the brain tumor just became a father for the fourth time, Auntie and Cousin are struggling with their loss but persevering. Spouse not only DIDN'T go on second shift as he was promised--he got screwed into twelve-hour days for at least a month. He has been crabby, to say the very least. So much for this job being "all that".
Since my commute is five times the length of his, and we are headed into the fourth summer in a row with no AC in the Retro-Rocket, Spouse has decided I should drive the Ford. I'm pretty freaking happy about that, since in addition to the working air, it is a flat-out joy to drive. Fuel-efficient, too. Gets better mileage than the PT, even with the air. Handles like a dream, plenty of power, and I guess I'm just a Ford girl. Everything is always where my brain thinks it should be in a Ford. From the first moment I slipped behind the wheel, I felt like I'd been driving it forever.

It's been sooo long since I drove anything I liked. I'd pretty much assumed I was over the whole loving a car thing. But I ♥ this one!
I bought a Kuerig, but instead of buying the one like Mom's that I wanted, I let Spouse strong-arm me into buying a different model, and I don't like it nearly as much as Mom's mini. It's huge, it actually has less flexibility regarding cup size, and it is slower and noisier. I really don't like it--but I guess I'm stuck. When will I learn to stop letting Spouse do that to me?
Speaking of the control freak--here's another one in his series of stupid tricks: My company is "June Business of the Month" at a certain pricey restaurant, entitling me to 20% off for two people. Of course, not good on holidays-perfectly normal, but that's no big deal. We both like this place a lot, and use the fortunate timing to celebrate our anniversary and get a bargain at the same time.

So this is the fourth year we for us to do that--and time to mix things up, I guess. He pressures me till I make the reservation for a Saturday late lunch for two.

And almost as soon as I have done so...he decides he needs to invite his brother and sister-in-law. Umm, why yes, it did specify "for TWO". Why do you ask? Not to mention that he has just invited two extra people along to our anniversary dinner. And, needless to say--he did so without consultimg me.

Oh, it gets better. We had planned on the 16th, the day after our anniversary. But since S-I-L is a car salesperson...she can't go on Saturday, and we have to change it to Sunday.

Which makes it June 17th..

Umm, why yes, it did specify "NOT GOOD ON HOLIDAYS". Why do you ask?

Damn that man make my brain hurt.


Reading: "The Fortunes of the Farrells" (1907), by Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey. Also, "The Mansion of Mystery," (1911) by Chester K. Steele. That second is actually part of a rare Stratemeyer Syndicate series aimed at adult mystery readers--and, of course, the author name is a pseudonym. I've not reached a conclusion about it yet. The Perotta book irritated me because I found myself really wanting to know how the world continued to function in general after this mass disappearance. I mean I wanted to know how tings were handled like life insurance and declaring people dead and stuff. But that isn't the thrust of the book, so I kept getting frustrated. Didn't finish it yet, and don't know if I will.

Listening: Since I'm driving the Ford (AM-FM-CD. No cassette, and so no way to use my MP3), I've been re-visiting the CD collection. "A Quiet Normal Life: The Best of Warren Zevon", and Jann Arden's "Happy?".

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com