rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















five years on
February 13, 2012

Five years ago this morning, my little brother, desperate for relief from the crippling depression that had been ruining his life for a decade, drove down a quiet country road, pulled onto the shoulder, put a gun in his mouth, and pulled the trigger.

That .357 blew one hell of a hole in my family, and we aren't anywhere close to over it yet.

I spent a shitty, mostly sleepless night, and a weepy morning. No gut-wrenching sobs, but a persistent teariness that I coudn't shake. My good old friend D picked me up at lunch and took me out, which helped me perk up a little, but you know a call to my mom is absolutely necessary on this sad occasion, so I'm gonna be back in the depths once more.

I'm still mad at him. For what he did to Mom and Dad, and for cheating me out of the one solace I would cling to when my own depression overtook me--my own option to commit suicide if I just couldn't take it anymore. I feel like he robbed me, because after his exit, there is no way in hell I could ever take the same way out while my parents are living--or even after, because it would destroy my one nephew who is still grief-stricken over his uncle.

And yet--I'm not, really. I am probably in a better position to understand his actions than anyone else in the family, and I know it wasn't his fault.




Reading: I gave up on "Thinking Small: The Long, Strange Trip of the Volkswagen Beetle," by Andrea Hiott. I didn't care for her writing style, and I found that the subject didn't hold my interest. I also started a couple more books I can already tell I probably won't finish: the first, I heard about on NPR. It's called "Coming Apart: The State of White America, 1960-2010" (2012) by a conservative sociologist named Charles Murray. And just a few pages in, I realize (not for the first time) that here is yet another book that places the date this country started going to shit as, roughly, "the day I was born". Whenever I am forced to confront this evidently provable fact, I get terribly depressed and can't continue with the book. Another library book I picked up is "Nerd Do Well: A Small Boy's Journey to Becoming a Big Kid" (2011), by Simon Pegg. Maybe this will start appealing to me soon, but so far he's a little too geeky and not enough funny to hold my interest. Truthfully, I've barely begun, so I'll give him a couple of chapters to get things rolling. In the Vintage/Hobby department, The Jane Allen books (I'm on #3, "Jane Allen: Center" (1920), by "Edith Bancroft") and "The Younger Set" (1907), by Robert W. Chambers--are still alternately pissing me off and pulling me in.

Listening: just not in a music mood.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com