rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the wrap-up
December 20, 2011

First, I am sorry about snapping the other day. I was suffering from a holiday fatigue crisis.



Wrapping up the year at work, which means working like fury trying to get shit done, while also burning up excess unused vacation. I had to take two days before the end of this week, since I could only carry over one week's worth. I took last Thursday and yesterday. I had to go into the office for Friday morning, but otherwise--that basically gave me a 4-day weekend. We pretty much spent it continuing to wrap up the holiday obligations.


Wrapped up the shopping, which is pretty basic this year. So many have sworn off gift exchanges due to economic constraints that we had the kids: $100 Wal-Mart gift certificate for Nephew & Girfriend. Since they are a cohabiting couple AND impoverished college students, they are basically getting money they can use for anything from a new printer to groceries and toothpaste. Niece/God-daughter is getting $75 cash. Their "little brother" (no relation to us but we just like him) is getting a $20 Wally's giftcard.

My family's drawing left Spouse and me with Mom & Dad to buy for. Given the shortage of cash, I drew upon my back-stock, and am actually re-gifting my mom with two brand-new purses--the ones I got at birthday time. The gorgeous red one from Bangles & Bags, and the cute little striped number from Fossil that E gave me. Plus I sent her my usual just between us "pick-me-up" gift. This year I went with a bouquet of flowers and a note to tell her what a good mom she is. Dad was easy--he called me up and rattled off the exact brand, model, and size of the winter boots he wanted, and I ordered them online, picked them up locally, and had them in hand about three hours after he called.

W & T are getting a game (it's called "LOGO"), plus I have a box of marzipan for W since it is sort of a tradition that if I find it, I get it for her for Christmas. Plus cookies.
And I am wrapping up the baking...Thursday, I whipped out the double batch of peanut butter cookies and got them in the mail to my uncle right away--I wanted them there in time for his day at the center this week. On Saturday, I made a batch of what I call "slpatz"--my spritz cookies recipe, but not shot through the cookie gun. I just lined up a row of sauce dishes, poured a different cookie decoration into each one, and then rolled the dough into small balls, and "splatted" them face-down in the decors. Popped the decorated cookies onto the cookie sheet and baked them off. You would be surprised what cute and festive little cookies you end up with!

Since I finally gave up on trying to get W&T to come over for a baking party, yesterday I just went ahead and made up my best approximation of her mom's recipe for oatmeal cookies with raspberry-flavored chocolate chips. (My best approximation=oatmeal scotchies, but with a chip switch.) I let her know I'd made them, and she would be getting them for Christmas--whereupon she admitted that the reason she hadn't gotten back to me was that she "couldn't afford to bake cookies". Like I was going to charge her! Well, she has her pride, I know. But I just thought we could have some fun with it. Oh, well--she doesn't really like to cook or bake anyway. (T is a lost cause this year, too--she is suffering from a horrid flare-up of her autoimmune issues and can't do much of anything)
Spouse and I got a wild hair on Sunday and decided to have another go-round with sending parcels. We decided to send one more box to Phoenix--this one is to be a surprise, if Spouse can manage to keep his big trap shut! One of our special Wisconsin goodie boxes, with summer sausage and cheese, horseradish mustard, Bucky Badger pretzels and pretzel dip, maple syrup, jam, and popcorn. And we also made up one for my dad, which included some of his particular favorites, as well as a couple dozen of my splatz cookies. Just a little something extra for Daddy this year.

I do have to say that it was a mob scene at the Post Office yesterday. The very busiest week of the year, really, I suppose. It was a very friendly and polite and well-ordered mob scene, though. That surprised me a little, but in a very pleasant way. We got everything off priority mail, and stuff should get there in plenty of time for Christmas. So that was positively the wrap-up the mailing!
So at this point, we nearly ready for the day--we bought our ham, which we'll have with sweet potatoes, vegetables, and crescent rolls for Christmas dinner (Spouse is planning a ham glaze with a base of Maker's Mark Bourbon). Cookies are baked, gifts bought, parcels shipped, and even the dog has his special holiday treat and gift set aside. In fact, we've just about wrapped up everything...except the wrapping!

Reading: My annual perusal of Christmas-themed stories from my pet period. This year it has been "A Reversible Santa Claus", by Meredith Nicholson, "On Christmas Day in the Morning" and "On Christmas Day in the Evening", by Grace Richmond, and "Christmas Angel", by Abbie Farwell Brown. All are from between1900 and 1918. And one a bit older, from 1893..."Mr. Kris Kringle", by S. Weir Mitchell

Listening: She & Him, John Prine, , Cowboy Junkies, Adele, Lit, Collective Soul

Surfing: Christmas at P.G.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com