rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















ahead of schedule
December 22, 2011

I frequently joke that "everything I like about Christmas starts with a C."

This year I have baked lots of Cookies, did some Cleaning, listened to many Carols, sent out a reasonable number of Cards, and ate a Candy Cane.

As I've done everything I enjoy doing at this time of year, I believe I'm done.

Is it spring break yet?


My dad called to say thanks for the box we sent him. That was underwhelming. I could feel my mom standing next to him holding the gun to his head. I don't know why I keep trying. Yes I do. As I told Spouse--I can only live UP to my own code, not DOWN to his. I love Daddy, but he sure doesn't make it easy.

The Arizonans, on the other hand, are such sheer joy that they make my whole Christmas. Auntie says that Uncle is having the best Christmas he has had in years. Her sister came to stay and saw to it that the house was thoroughly decorated, with a real tree in the sun room, good things keep coming in the mail, and he has had some social events to plan for and look forward to. All things that please him greatly, and help to keep him sharp.

And my surprise of a big batch of cookies for him to share with his friends turned a run-of-the-mill Wednesday visit to the senior center into a first-class production number--including a shopping trip to buy a "special" plate to put the cookies on, a haircut, and getting all dressed up in a suit and tie. And he didn't just set them on a table. No, he held court and distributed them personally. He wore himself out, he said when he got home. That was hard work! I could feel my ears burning yesterday from him talking me up, too.

I can't wait to hear what he thinks of the NEXT surprise box.
As for our actual holiday, it is just the two of us again. But we will be spending it at home, this time. The menu is more or less nailed down; Spouse has planned a baked ham with a bourbon-maple glaze (a Maker's Mark recipe), the fabulous sweet potato recipe he learned from ATK, LeSeur peas in butter sauce, crescent rolls, and (probably) a chocolate cream pie. Other than cooking, eating, and cleaning up, we really don't have a plan. Probably get out the DVD of "National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation" and watch that. Have some drinks. Kick back and take it easy. Since he already gave me my kitchen scale, and I took him along when I got his certificate framed, there are no surprise gifts this year. That I know of, anyway.--can't never tell with that one! But as belts are being worn quite tight this year, I'm kinda doubting it.

I really don't want anything, anyway. My lack of interest interest in...well... everything...is downright stunning these days. I don't want to go anywhere, do anything, or acquire anything. Simply, supremely disinterested. The only thing I find myself enjoying lately is spoiling my uncle. Everything else is going through the motions, doing the old "fake it till you make it" routine. But it is really not easy faking energy. Maybe that's what I really want for Christmas. Energy.

Reading: More annual perusal of Christmas-themed stories; "Christmas Holidays at Merryvale" (1916), by Alice Hale Burnett. And I'm juggling a couple of Anna Katharine Green books--�That Affair Next Door� (1897), which is the first of her series featuring spinster sleuth Miss Amelia Butterworth, as well as one that is horribly plotted but still rather compelling, �The Millionaire Baby� (1905).

Listening: Elvis Costello, Feist, Jack Johnson, The Decembrists

Surfing:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com