rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















some holidays aren't "celebrated"
November 11, 2011

I've said it before; I'll say it again. Don't wish me a "happy" Veteran's Day. Veteran's Day is not about "happy". It isn't a festive celebration, it's a solemn occasion. For me, it's a day to remember the dead, and to thank my friends and loved ones who have served, living or dead, in peace or in war.

So I say thanks, to: My husband. My brother. My late Father-in-law. My Uncles and Great-Uncles. My friends and my classmates.

Jai. Tressa. Trace. Darwin. Robert. Russell. Jeff. Skip. Lester. Jeannie. Scott. Mark. Jim. Bud. Al. Rex. Vic.

So many.


Just when I thought I was out...they pull me back in.

Guess who put in overtime today, doing the very job that they took away from me sixty-nine months ago?

They came begging, as they always do when they are in a bind, and since--to be frank about it--I need the money, I agreed to put in some hours in my old department. I can't say that I made much of an impact, and most of it will be straight time due to our assish OT rules, but what the hey. I really did love that job, and wish I was still in it...so I let them pull me back in, even though it's bittersweet.
Tomorrow is the big day--I will get up and go to town on building this fruitcake. I have all my high-quality ingredients collected, I'm boozing up my golden raisins overnight, and I've read up on tips and techniques. I'm ready as I'll ever be, I guess.

Here's hoping I can pull this off. Spouse has talked it up to the limit on the phone with her, so Auntie is depending on me.
Spouse senses my apprehension, and is prepared to bribe me to get me going. He has announced that he's getting up early in the morning to run accross the state line and bring me back some goodies from this place that sells the most fabulous, old-school donuts you can find.

I will also have to try and whip through all the laundry tomorrow, since Spouse and his brother P have cooked up some plans for Sunday. They want to take their brother JR out to brunch for his 43rd Birthday, as well as have their big pre-petsitting meeting to go over details. It might be another Lint Trap weekend.
Had a bit of bother with the B this week; he gave himself a hotspot on his back leg, just above the paw. We have been treating it with antibiotic salve and bandaging it, but we have an issue. B's fine with the bandage all night, but between when I leave for work and when Spouse gets up, Mr. B gets up on the couch, makes himself comfy, and proceeds to chew the bandage off. I surprised his ass this morning--I cut it off myself. The fact is, if he isn't going to leave it on, I'd prefer he didn't choke himself on it when he's gnawing it off. I re-applied the meds and just left it alone and I hope to heck he did the same after I left. It doesn't look bad or feel hot right now, so I think it is healing.

Reading:"Sweetapple Cove" (1914), by George Van Schaick and "Nedra" (1906), by George Barr McCutcheon. Light romantic novels of the era. The first is narrated by both the main characters; via the hero's diary and the heroine's letters to her aunt. I would recommend it, and I'm going looking for more stories by Van Schaick. George Barr McCutcheon, on the other hand...I keep getting sucked in by his ambitious plots, then bogged down by his mediocre prose and characterizations. I intend to try and stick it out, but my intentions may fail me before I get all the way through.

Listening: NPR.

Surfing:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com