rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















03-02-2011
March 02, 2011

He got his eyes examined and his glasses ordered; they were a bit more than mine, due to frame price, but still not bad--$167 after insurance. The optical manager was going to try to get a rush put on them; I hope she can, because the 15-year-old, single vision specs he's wearing are for shit. That's how far back you have to go with him to find a pair of glasses he didn't replace because he snapped them in two.

Frankly, if I could afford it, I would get him a second pair immediately. Unfortunately, I can't. A second pair would cost around three hundred out of pocket, since insurance only covers one pair. And we're scrambling for the dosh to pay for the first pair, to be honest.

Gah! One damn pocket-draining thing after another lately. That's the problem with a safety fund--sooner or later you will have to spend it on something. And once it is gone, and you are operating without a net, all kinds of shit starts going down.

There's no way I'm going to get a vacation, is there?


I have to hand it to Spouse, though. He came home from the eye thing yesterday and made a pot of chili. The first pot of chili he has ever made in his entire life. And it was not too bad! Needs a little tweaking, but amazingly edible.

And the sweetest thing is--he hates chili, and made it especially for me, because I love it. (He had Rice Krispies for dinner.) What a guy.

In other cooking news, I am closer than ever to having a genuine Kitchen Aid of my very own! Auntie "gave" it to us a year and a half ago, but never got around to sending it (expensive proposition, that!). And I could hardly bring it home on the plane when I was out there. But since the 'rents drove out there, Auntie and Dad made sure to stow it away in the van. Once Mom & Dad get home, I will only be a mere hundred miles from my precious.

And once I have it, I will have achieved my lifelong goals of owning an enameled cast-iron dutch oven AND a Kitchen Aid stand mixer...I can die happy.

Yeah, the pot doesn't have to be Le Creuset (mine is a Lodge, and I can't imagine loving any pot more than I do that one), but the mixer is NOT negotiable. Don't give me any of that Cuisinart or Mixmaster bullspit.

Reading:Hobby--"The Motor Maid" (1910), by A.M. & C.N. Williamson. This is the first book by the Williamsons that I've read, and it's not too bad, actually, although its travelogue qualities are largely lost on me--I don't have the history knowledge for them.

"Penny Nichols Finds a Clue" (1936) by Mildred Wirt Penny Nichols seems to be a proto-Penny Parker, but I figure I'll forge ahead anyway. This Penny has a private detective for a dad, instead of a newspaper publisher (Penny Parker), but she is 15, spends her allowance on her roadster, wnats to follow her dad's career path, solves mysteries, winds her widowed father and their housekeeper 'round her finger, and does pretty much what she wants. Sound familiar?

Surfing: .

Listening: Peter Gabriel, The Strokes, Lou Reed (Happy Birthday), Beck, The Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Madeleine Peyroux (doing Leonard Cohen, no less).

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com