rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sorely needed
February 28, 2011.

It was just what I needed--a quiet and uneventful weekend. Some highlights:
Usual weekend household and life maintenance--A few errands, a bit of grocery shopping, laundry, housework. Talked to my mom on the phone, cleaned out my purse, spent some time reading.

I was nice to myself, and ordered some beading stuff for a bracelet for myself from Fire Mountain. Also in the nice to myself department: planned & coordinated an outing for W&T and myself to go out for dinner and then see the KUSD Theatre Arts kids premiere of "Avenue Q" (Student Edition).

Did some cooking; on Saturday, I made a pan of Rice Krispie Treats, and a pot of my homemade vegetable soup. On Sunday, I experimented with a standard meal--used a panade in my meatloaf, crumbled leftover cornbread into my scalloped corn, and made mashed potatoes by adapting the method we have been using for sweet potatoes. Results: meatloaf's consistency was good, but seasoning was off. Didn't care for the cornbread trick--came out to bread-like. Potatoes were sensational, and I will never do them any other way from now on.

Wrote a glowing customer satisfaction letter to the Optical Dept. at Sam's Club. I was totally and blissfully pleased with my experience and my glasses, so I figure I'll let them know.


Speaking of optical matters--unexpected call from Spouse this morning. He snapped his glasses in half "when he was cleaning them". Sigh. I'd like to believe in this accident, but I have a feeling he just felt his current glasses weren't working, and didn't want to bring it up--so he forced the issue.

Now keep in mind--I have never, and would never, begrudge him anything for health and well-being. I never stop ENCOURAGING him to take better care of himself. I take reasonable care of myself--see the doctor, dentist, and optometrist as often as necessary--and frankly, would be overjoyed if he did the same. For goodness' sake, I am on my third pair since the last time he got new specs.

No, it is SPOUSE who has a problem. I lay it squarely in the "low self-seteem" basket, and it drives me crazy that he doesn't feel he is worth taking care of.

Oh, and there also may be the teensy-weensiest bit of the green-eyed monster there, too. He has a pretty consistent record of having a health crisis, every time I have an issue. (Stated that way deliberately: if I need a blood test, he will need an MRI, surgery, an ambulance, etc.)
Smoking report: Encouraging. Feel like I'm making progress, though I still need to try harder. When totaling at the end of the week, found I had smoked a total of 8.5--that is less for the entire week than I used to do in a single day. I even left my "security blanket" at home when I went to work on Thursday and Friday.

And while I cop to smoking, I have to admit that I do not seem to be enjoying them anymore--is this the hypnosis at work, or the gum taking the edge of the rush, or just the fact that taking two weeks on one pack leads to some very stale cigarettes? Don't know, don't care. Just hoping this will help me to walk away for good.

Some new goals for this week: I will continue to work towards a complete cessation. I will do my hypnosis EVERY day; no more skipping days. I will work on being without them and not panicking. I will go smoke-free for more than two days at a time.

Reading:Hobby--"The Merryweathers" (1904), by Laura E. Howe Richards. "The Motor Maid" (1910), by A.M. & C.N. Williamson

Surfing: .

Listening: The B-52s, Pearl Jam, Counting Crows, The Who.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com