rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















are we there yet?
February 17, 2011

Still tired, still cranky, still bloody awful. But--I have most everything done I need to take care of for Sunday, except the printing work. And maybe getting a floral arrangement, if I can manage it.

The eight by ten photo came out pretty well, considering I had to do it on the cheap, and all myself. I blew up a really good snapshot that JR had found, but when I printed it at home I wasn't satisfied with the results. So I did it again on the big color printer at work, and it came out much better, even though it is on plain paper stock and not photo paper.

Then I managed to find a decent frame on the cheap(at Woodman's Supermarket, of all places!), only to find that the whole thing wouldn't work, unless it was matted. So after scratching my head a bit, I pulled out a couple of pieces of Spouse's good ivory vellum paper, stuck them together with a glue stick to get the right rigidity and opacity, and verrrrry carefully measured and trimmed them out to make a one-inch matte. Put the whole thing together, and from a couple feet away, you can't tell it from the real thing. I hope it will serve.

And I managed to get the photo board done, too. Turned out I had just the right amount of pictures to cover the 20"x30" piece of foam board I bought (found that at Hobby Lobby, nice size, right rigidity, pleasant beige linen effect, and under five bucks). I used poster putty to attach them to the board, and I bought an inexpensive wooden easel ($6.99, Hobby Lobby again) to display it.

Tomorrow, we have to go pick up a few more items for the luncheon--cheap serving tongs and spoons, more plastic forks, some cake plates, and such. Spouse went and got most of that stuff today, but I'm thinking we need more forks and plates. And I absolutely have to get to work on the actual printing of the funeral cards. I just want to check with JR one last time for any program changes, and get everything properly aligned, then start. But slowly, and one sheet at a time, since I don't have any too much card stock, and the stupid printer won't tell me what my ink levels are (Frigging HP and their "We don't recognize your off-brand, counterfeit cartridges" bullpuckey!).

Anyway. I suppose I'll have an extra-busy day Saturday, too--Sunday being spoken for, I must cram all the housework into one day. Ugh. I have been snowed in, or sick, or super-busy, or trying to shake off Spouse from my neck, for the last month. I crave peace! Can I soon have peace, do you think?


Bookstuff:
Number 14 is the last of the Pennys; and I am into both the Hildegarde series and the Margaret series by Laura E. Richards at the moment. Since they are related, it isn't much of a brain strain to juggle them.

Sigh. I've managed to keep my reading these past few weeks, but my library management has suffered. I'm trying to scout a few new series to fill up the pipeline. Have a few to make a start on--the Jane Allen series from the teens, the Betty Lee and the Penny Nichols series from the thirties. And a couple more in my sights, if I can only locate them.

Or maybe I should read Mrs. Gaskell's "Cranford", and Pilgrim's Progress--they seem to pop up in every series from the 1860s to the 1930s!

Reading:Hobby--"Hildegarde's Holiday" (1889), by Laura E. Howe Richards. "Signal in the Dark" (1946) by Mildred A. Wirt (Penny Parker 14).

Surfing: .

Listening: Billy Idol, Green Day...and the news about my state assembly rep hiding out in Rockford with all the other democrats.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com