rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















bitchy
February 16, 2011

Well, the parents are off and running, dog and luggage in tow. They are headed out to Arizona & New Mexico for visiting and vacation. Auntie and Uncle, Auntie's sister & her husband, and possibly some cousins from both sides of the family (I have a lot of intelligent relatives--they all moved to the southwest years ago.)

As much as I worry about them on the road, I know my dad hates to fly, my mom needs to go at a particular pace, and everything they do is in service to the dog. And they really need this vacation. So I wave my hankie farewell, wish them godspeed, and hope for the best.

And, while I am not so foolish as to wish I was going along (1800 miles in a van with fighting parents and a farting dog? Noooo thank you!)--I have to admit I'm kind of jealous. As badly as I need a vacation, I don't see it happening. The money just ain't there.

We probably could have squeaked out another spring mini-break this year--if we hadn't had to help make up for the fact that his mother had no insurance, and kick the vacation fund over to burial expenses. (Well, I think I will look on the bright side, there--no matter how many times she may have screwed me over since 1983, this is her last shot.)


Yes, that was bitchy. Too bad. I'm tired and crabby.
    • I got my period this morning.
      I have been sleeping and eating for shit lately anyway.
      Feeling run down and heartily sick of winter.
      Want to stab the guy sitting on the other side of my cube wall, for his general noisiness and thumping around, and for annoying combination of accent and voice (He must be from Lancashire--his voice is the male equivalent of Bubble from AbFab).
      The smoking thing has gone all to hell this week, because no matter how big and important the "I SHOULD" is, it is still not "I WANT TO".

  • Tantrum over--I think. More about the shitty sleeping: Heavy duty dreams last night, including me trying to call Ces Marciuliano on the phone. And one where I had Robert DeNiro showing up at my work, and glomming onto me to take his notes in a meeting. For some reason, he was there as himself, yet had some kind of business dealings with the company and needed a note-taker. Weird. And not at all restful. I woke up with that "beaten by a sack of doorknobs" feeling. Anyway. I am just now catching up with posting my entries, so FYI--there are two more new ones preceeding this. I can get them written, but posted is another story these days. I just keep forgetting!

    Reading:Hobby--"Peggy" (1899), by Laura E. Howe Richards. It is becoming apparent that I miscalculated in reading this series before the Hildegarde books, as Hildegarde came first, and ties into, the Three Margarets series. "The Guilt of the Brass Thieves" (1945), and "Signal in the Dark" (1946) by Mildred A. Wirt (Penny Parker #13 & #14). In all the Penny Parker's I've read, the I only remember her dealing with the cops once. And in that one they were crooked. I understand it's all about Penny, but please! Assaults, kidnappings, false imprisonment, robberies, industrial theft...and nobody ever seems to pick up a phone and call the cops.

    Surfing: .

    Listening:

    At Random: click here

    recede - proceed

    hosted by DiaryLand.com