rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















blizzard of '11
February 03, 2011

I am only doing this entry because it has been an eventful week, not because I really want to. What is going on, you ask?

Blizzard that ranks in the top three of the entire record-keeping history of Chicago weather. In K-Town, we got an offical total of 23.2 inches, and wind speeds of 35 mph, gusting up to 60.

Followed by much snow removal. Thanks to the usual antics of our jerk plow drivers, REPEATED snow removal from the end of our driveway. As of this morning, we had cleared it a total of four separate times. We did have some help from a couple of very nice neighbors, thank goodness.

My company actually did the unthinkable (for them) and sent people home early on Tuesday (I was off anyway) with an advance decision to close on Wednesday. Personally, I think they should have gone another day, but I truly believe that would have dropped the top execs in their tracks. I managed to make it in, though--on time, too. Despite having to follow a tollway-blocking formation of SEVEN salt trucks from the state line to Gurnee. Of course, I was not responsible formy own transportation; Spouse would never have allowed it, even supposing we could have retrieved the Retro-Rocket from under its enormous snowdrift.


Falling under the heading of "stuff that isn't the blizzard"--funeral arrangements. Finally got in communication with JR, and found out what was going on. He has set up the cremation thru a funeral home where he knows a guy and can get an $800 discunt. We have promised JR that we can come up with $600 for him immediately; perhaps a couple of hundred more in a few weeks.

The plan is to have a memorial service on the 20th, in Waukegan. Also a post-service reception at a friend's house, he has generously offered to open his home to us for this. It is big enough and local enough to be ideal. Food will come from JR's catering buddy, drinks and desserts from Spouse and me, via Sam's Club.

If it is to happen at all, it will be me who is writing the obituary, so I have started on this, although I will need tons of information from Scott and whoever else can help, since I don't know a lot of specifics abut her.

Also, I really want JR to set up a memorial fund in lieu of flowers, to help defray funeral expenses.
A couple of things relating to W&T: T dropped her basket again last week and ended up in a locked psych ward for 6 days. She is home now. There is something going on, mentally or physically, that is preventing restorative sleep, so she had a psychotic break.

W is getting on my nerves again, because it really seems like she's gotten totally self-centered. The attitude she cops so often lately is one I am all too familiar with, since my dad & SIL do it too. You know the one: I am the CHOSEN ONE--anything that happens to affect me, is happening directly TO me. Regardless of however many millions of OTHER people are affected by something, THEY are the victim.

We went 'round a bit about the snow issues yesterday, and it was only with a monumental effort that I avoided saying "Okay, you win", awarding her the gold medal in the Misery Olympics.
On a final note: smoking has occurred. It is what it is, I am trying to deal with the situation the best I can, and my quit is my business.

As far as the "support" website is concerned, I really don't think it is working out for me. Reasons:
--My long-standing policy of not frequenting any site that tolerates flame wars is not compatible with their policy of allowing them.
--An underlying hypocrisy between the official website approach to quitting, and the actual approach taken by members.
--Everyone administers advice according to their personal code, without knowing the person to whom they are dispensing said advice, or what may be the best approach for that particular person.
--Ultimately, this: I do not respond well to either the lecturing/hectoring approach, OR the touchy-feely/cheerleading approach. They foster such feelings of revulsion in me that I avoid logging in. And those two approaches seem to be all they have to offer, really.

Reading:Hobby--"Keneith" and "Happy House" (early 1920s) by Jane Abbott.

General--"Teatime for the Traditionally Built", (Mma Ramotswe #10, from (2009) by Alexander McCall Smith. Kind of set aside for now, but I'll get back to it eventually.

Surfing: .

Listening: For the past few days, it's mostly been weather reports and weather-related news stories.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com